Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,360
    Thanks
    77
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Safe Start (XP Pro SP-2)

    Here's the command line I got from a prior post / referral concerning safe starts:

    multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)WINDOWS="Micros oft Windows XP Professional Safe Mode" /noexecute=optin /fastdetect /safemode:minimal /sos /botlog

    The above is added to the boot.ini file and allows (purportedly) a safe start menu choice. But it ain't happening.

    I understand I could just hit F8 at startup... but I am wondering what goes wrong here.

    If I do a safe start with F8, the monitor is at 640x480, there's no wallpaper and on...

    But using the above command line, my monitor remains at high-res 16-bit color, wallpaper intact, etc. AND the file locking is still in place, which isn't using the F8 option.

    This came up due to an Outlook issue. I was trying to copy a copy of my outlook.pst file over the new installation copy, and couldn't due to locking. the menu line did not remove the locking, the F8 option did.

    What could be the difference here? And I'll probably end up moving this part to the Outlook board, but what's causing the lock on the pst file anyway?

    Regards,
    Chuck Billow
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  2. #2
    WS Lounge VIP rory's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Burwash, East Sussex, United Kingdom
    Posts
    6,265
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 187 Times in 173 Posts

    Re: Safe Start (XP Pro SP-2)

    Hi Chuck,
    When you say it's not happening, do you mean you don't get the menu option at all (i.e. it just boots straight into XP)? If so, do you have a timeout value set or is the timeout line commented out (i.e. it starts with a semicolon)?
    Regards,
    Rory

    Microsoft MVP - Excel

  3. #3
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,360
    Thanks
    77
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Safe Start (XP Pro SP-2)

    Rory:

    I'm sorry... no, I get the menu, but "Safe Mode" isn't 'safe'...

    Regards,
    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  4. #4
    WS Lounge VIP rory's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Burwash, East Sussex, United Kingdom
    Posts
    6,265
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 187 Times in 173 Posts

    Re: Safe Start (XP Pro SP-2)

    Chuck,
    Sorry, I didn't look closely enough at your switches - try changing the last bit to:
    <pre> /safeboot:minimal /sos /bootlog
    </pre>

    HTH
    Regards,
    Rory

    Microsoft MVP - Excel

  5. #5
    WS Lounge VIP rory's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Burwash, East Sussex, United Kingdom
    Posts
    6,265
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 187 Times in 173 Posts

    Re: Safe Start (XP Pro SP-2)

    Just FYI, if you choose Start-Run and type <pre>msconfig</pre>

    then select the Boot.ini tab, you can see the available switches to add.
    Regards,
    Rory

    Microsoft MVP - Excel

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Safe Start (XP Pro SP-2)

    Aw, c'mon Chuck, you need to be just a tiny bit more verbose. What do you mean by "...safe mode isn't safe..." please? Also, do you mind posting the reference where you said you got the recommended command line (I guess you mean modification to the boot.ini file)? Maybe the original poster will jump in here and help us out. The reason I ask that is that I see what look like a couple of "typos" in what you display as the command line, such as: "noexecute=optin" or "/botlog"

    Edited: Sorry, Rory. I didn't see that you were still "live." I'll get out of the way now...

  7. #7
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,360
    Thanks
    77
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Safe Start (XP Pro SP-2)

    Rory:

    Thnak you... it was the "safemode / safeboot" mistake in my line that caused the problem... Works well now...

    C'mon, Al... you know I tend to trip over my own two sometimes... I'll get it straight... eventually... hopefully...

    Regards,
    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  8. #8
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,360
    Thanks
    77
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Safe Start (XP Pro SP-2)

    Rory:

    Alos, it doesn't seem that the switches are quite as clear there as need be, so again, thatnks for the help.

    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •