5 Star Lounger
    Thanks

Several hardware questions.

<P ID="edit" class=small>(Edited by Leif on 15-Mar-05 11:15. to replace strangely named zipped attachment with a .jpg.)</P>Hi,
    I have several questions regarding my computer. Hope someone can help! I'll probably need things to be explained in a pretty simple way, I'm no expert on the internal workings...........

1) I am trying to attached the hard drive to the motherboard with a slave DVD-ROM. The blue connector goes in the motherboard, the second to the hard drive, third (at the other end) into the DVD-ROM. However when I boot up, none of the drives are recognised. If I unplug the DVD-ROM, the mobo recognises the harddrive...where am I going wrong?
    2) I am trying to connect 3 drives, CD-RW, DVD-ROM etc. I have enough power leads, but there is another small lead with about 4/6 pins that connect to the drives and the mobo. I only have two of these. What are they and can I do without?
    3) My CD-RW isn't writing. The drive works in the sense that it plays discs. Just won't write...........I'm pretty sure that it does work as its pretty new. What can I do to test/reinstall it?
    4) What is the best card I can get for an AGP 4x slot. Can I still get one of the newer 8x cards? I mainly want this for gaming.........

Cheers, attached is an image of my motherboard...........
    Attached Images Attached Images

4 Star Lounger
    Thanks

Re: Several hardware questions.

Hi Nigel,

Hopefully this will just be a simple jumper issue. Look, on the back of both the DVD and the harddrive. You will see a set of 6-8 pins and a jumper block across 2 or more of them. The settings are typically labeled MA (Master), SL (Slave), CS (Cable Select). Most drives have a key on the drives label. Make sure your HD jumper is set to Master, and the DVD is set to Slave..

Typically, your cable is configured with the systemboard (motherboard) on one end, the Master on the opposite end, and the Slave in the Middle connector.