Star Lounger
    Thanks

Setting up a Lookup Table (2002)

Hi,

I am trying to set up a Section/Part Number/Dimension table as shown in the attached example worksheet. This table that will be accessible for a number of users that will be able to enter information as needed. The users should enter the part numbers using the appropriate buttons (ie, "insert into Level 1"), which should enable the user to jump to a new row in this category, where information will be entered. I also want to have a lookup table where I would enter the Section and Part Number (showing only those for the corresponding section, and preferably sorted) and will get the dimension.

I started to create this template (see attached example) but I am not sure if I am using the best approach to this problem, that is, I don't know if the tools that I am using in Excel are best for my case, since I have very little knowledge of programming. Could someone let me know if I going about it in the right direction? Also, is there an example spreadsheet in this discussion forum or elsewhere in the Internet that I will be able to use as a starting place.

Thanks for your help,
    Hanan.

Thanks

Re: Setting up a Lookup Table (2002)

I am not sure what you want to happen when you press any of the 3 buttons.

Your pulldown lists also seems to have lots of blanks in it, what do you want to accomplish.

Some links (if I understand a little):
    John Walkenbach has some code for Filling a ListBox With Unique Items and Debra Dalgleish's site has some info (if you want to use validation rather than coding) on creating Dependent Lists using datavalidation.

Steve

Star Lounger
    Thanks

Steve,