Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger jujuraf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    San Jose, California, USA
    Posts
    1,061
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    setup web server with static IP from ISP

    After a month of trying to get DDNS to work with my dynamic IP addresses (via dynDNS.org and TZO.com) I went and switched my DSL service to a static IP. All works fine now BUT I still can't get my home grown web server visible to the web. <img src=/S/brickwall.gif border=0 alt=brickwall width=25 height=15>

    I'm using Abyss web server (small, free, easy to setup) with WinXP SP2. I disabled Windows firewall and McAfee firewall and still can't view the index.htm file I created. (Viewed it from a PC not connected to my home network of course).

    Things I've tried:
    1. Gave this one PC a 'fixed' address of 192.168.1.10 (instead of the one dynamically given to it by the router).
    2. In Linksys router config, set up port forwarding for port 80 for the above .10 address
    3. Set DMZ in router to allow .10 to be visible

    What more is there to do? This is crazy I'm having this many problems. My brain (what's left of it) is fried. <img src=/S/dizzy.gif border=0 alt=dizzy width=15 height=15>

    I can successfully ping my given static address from an external PC (one not in my network) but when I do http://n.n.n.n it gives me Page Not Found instead of the index.html page that I set up.

    Deb <img src=/S/bash.gif border=0 alt=bash width=35 height=39>

  2. Subscribe to our Windows Secrets Newsletter - It's Free!

    Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: setup web server with static IP from ISP

    Your ISP may not allow local web servers - so the traffic for port 80 may be getting intercepted by them. I suggest you contact them and ask before doing any other investigation of this.

    StuartR

  4. #3
    5 Star Lounger jujuraf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    San Jose, California, USA
    Posts
    1,061
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: setup web server with static IP from ISP

    Ah sorry, I should of mentioned this. I did check with my ISP and they say they do not block port 80.

    Other ideas?

    Deb

  5. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: setup web server with static IP from ISP

    Another silly question.

    Have you successfully accessed this web site from another PC on your home network?

    StuartR
    (about to go to bed, so hopefully someone else will respond to your answer before I get home from work tomorrow night)

  6. #5
    5 Star Lounger jujuraf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    San Jose, California, USA
    Posts
    1,061
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: setup web server with static IP from ISP

    At the moment, no I can't but I have seen this index.html page before from another PC on my internal network. I've changed so many things trying to get it to work I don't remember what I did before that made that page visible. After receiving your question, I went and removed the 'fixed' IP address for the web server PC (I set it to 192.168.1.10, used the same provided DNS and gateway, etc. that the router has) and now it gets its address dynamically from the router (right now, ipconfig gives me 192.168.1.103). Unfortunately I still can't view the index.html page from any of my home computers.

    I even removed port forwarding and DMZ on the router config so it's back to the original setup for a static IP.

    I need to at least be able to view the index.html from my home PCs.... now what in the world did I do to get access to that page? <img src=/S/bwaaah.gif border=0 alt=bwaaah width=123 height=15> This one PC is WinXP the others are Win2k.

    Deb

  7. #6
    5 Star Lounger jujuraf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    San Jose, California, USA
    Posts
    1,061
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: setup web server with static IP from ISP

    Progress report.... I can now view the web page on my home server IF I forward its dynamic address via port 80. By this I mean I viewed the address assigned by the router using ipconfig and it said "192.168.1.103". I then went into the router's config settings and in the Forwarding menu, I set HTTP to forward port 80 for address 192.168.1.103.

    The page is at http://66.218.46.100 and it just says "Hello???"

    Now this is definite progress EXCEPT since I used a dynamic address (the .103) isn't this going to fail eventually? I tried setting this computer to a fixed address outside of the DHCP range (which starts at .100).I gave it 192.168.1.10 and assigned the same gateway, mask and DNS as the router. I then did the same port forwarding thing for HTTP/80 but with this .10 address. I was no longer able to get on the Internet and couldn't view the index.html page from my local network.

    So it seems I can only use the dynamic .103 address. I just now chatted with my DSL provider and he was able to view my web page and he suggested I need to use the fixed .10 address along with NAT. Otherwise, the dynamic address the router assigned to that PC (the .103) isn't realiable. How do I set NAT?

    Deb

  8. #7
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: setup web server with static IP from ISP

    Many home DHCP Servers will allow you to reserve an IP address to be allocated to a device with a specific known MAC address, to deal with exactly this kind of issue.

    Alternatively you could just never reboot anything - the web server will then renew its existing IP address every time its lease expires.

    StuartR

  9. #8
    5 Star Lounger jujuraf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    San Jose, California, USA
    Posts
    1,061
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: setup web server with static IP from ISP

    So just leaving the server on all the time is good enough? I didn't think that was true but then what do I know? <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>

    For now, I set this PC's address to 192.168.1.10 which is outside of the DHCP range (which starts at 192.168.1.100 and 50 computers which is the default setting). I also set up an account with http://www.dynDNS.org so that I can have a name associated with this static IP address, http://circuitm.homeip.net and that works fine too so far (this equates to the http://66.218.46.100 which is my static IP assigned to the router).

    So even tho it all works at the moment, I'd still like to know more details and why I had so many problems with my previous dynamic IP address and failed attempts at iimplementing DDNS and PPPoE. It was only through persistence, reading KB articles on the Linksys site, and trying all permutations that I even got it working. Dumb luck troubleshooting - no real brain power required <img src=/S/dizzy.gif border=0 alt=dizzy width=15 height=15>

    I'll leave it as it is for now... Thanks for the help.
    Deb

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •