Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Wyoming, USA
    Posts
    69
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Access 2000 Runtime (2003 updates)

    Hello all,
    This is probably a really strange one. Office 2003 says that I have updates that need to be added to stop so crashes that I have had. When I try to download the updates I always run into a problem downloading Access SP3. I have the original installation disk for Office 2003 but the MS web site tells me I need the install disk for Access 2000 Runtime SP1. I have tried using the Acess 2000 install disk that does not work, I have tried using Office XP instll disks, that doesn' work. Yep, I'm a sucker tor the latest versions of Office.

    Anyone have any suggestions?

    TIA

    Bret

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Access 2000 Runtime (2003 updates)

    I'm thoroughly confused. Which version of Access and which version of the runtime are you using? You have mentioned the last 3 versions of Access without distinguishing between them. If you are trying to update any given version of Office/Access (say 2000 for instance), then you have to be ready to give the machine that version's CD. Can you be more specific about where you run into problems and the exact nature of the messages you get?

    Afterthought: Is your problem downloading the 2000 SP3 or the SP3 for the Access runtime? The latter can't usually be installed on a machine with full Access. At least, we haven't been able to accomplish it on any of our machines. <img src=/S/shrug.gif border=0 alt=shrug width=39 height=15>
    Charlotte

  3. #3
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Wyoming, USA
    Posts
    69
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Access 2000 Runtime (2003 updates)

    I am just as confused as you are. I am using Office Professional 2003 and when I got to update it tells me I need Access 2000 Runtime SP3. When I try to install the update it will ask for the install disk and a datamsi1 file. I put the origianl install disk in for Office Pro 2003 and it tells me that it cannot find the file it is searching for.

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Access 2000 Runtime (2003 updates)

    Do you happen to have a runtime 2000 installation somewhere on your machine?
    Charlotte

  5. #5
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Wyoming, USA
    Posts
    69
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Access 2000 Runtime (2003 updates)

    I don't really know. I did have Access 2000 on the machine, it was the standalone and when I tried that install disk it still tells me it can't find the file it is looking for.

    Bret

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Evergreen, CO, USA
    Posts
    6,623
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 60 Times in 60 Posts

    Re: Access 2000 Runtime (2003 updates)

    If you open Access 2003 and do a Help / About command, it will tell you if you have SP1 of Office 2003 installed. If you do, you should be OK even if the Windows Update installer keeps telling you it's found some vestiges of Access 2000 on your machine. One question - when you installed Office 2003, did you tell it to leave the older 2000 version of Access on your PC, or did you tell it to replace it?
    Wendell

  7. #7
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Wyoming, USA
    Posts
    69
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Access 2000 Runtime (2003 updates)

    Hi Wendell,
    It does not show SP1 it just shows the build, 11.5614.6360

    Thanks,

    Bret

  8. #8
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Evergreen, CO, USA
    Posts
    6,623
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 60 Times in 60 Posts

    Re: Access 2000 Runtime (2003 updates)

    Then it appears you do not have SP1 installed - my system shows ... Access 2003 (11.6355.6360) SP1 - and you would benefit from the changes in SP1. Was your Office 2003 installed as an upgrade from Office 2000, or was it the full retail version?
    Wendell

  9. #9
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Wyoming, USA
    Posts
    69
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Access 2000 Runtime (2003 updates)

    I had Office XP on the computer and upgraded to 2003. I have even tried to reintall Office 2003. It has not shown to give me anything different. The install disks are Full retail versions.

    Bret

  10. #10
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Evergreen, CO, USA
    Posts
    6,623
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 60 Times in 60 Posts

    Re: Access 2000 Runtime (2003 updates)

    It appears you still some vestiges of Access 2000, perhaps the runtime version, as well as possibly 2002 (XP) and 2003. Did you remove XP when you installed 2003?
    Wendell

  11. #11
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Wyoming, USA
    Posts
    69
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Access 2000 Runtime (2003 updates)

    Hi Wendell,

    I was just thinking. I probably do have a residual of Access 2000 on my computer. But could it possibly be in a program that uses Access for it's data storage? I have two or three different programs that are Access based. This might explain why when I get out my Access 2000 install disks that the upgrader doesn't recognize my copy as valid.

    Thanks for all your help.

    Bret

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •