Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    L, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany
    Posts
    184
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Tab Control - simulate via buttons (2003)

    Good evening,

    many questions many answers...

    I'm not content with the normal look of the Access Tabs. I saw that I could use style "None" for the Tab buttons - nice. But how do I skip through the tabs now?

    Say I have tabs Misc, Root, Whatever and House. Now how does the VB look like to have a button which will put me to any of those?

    Basically I want to create a menu and I don't want the menu to be horizontally aligned but vertically. Yeah I could do that by setting each menu-item to visible = false and so on... but that's gonna bloat the code I believe, it'd be better to just have every "menu" in a seperate tab-page.

    Cheers
    Dennis

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Tab Control - simulate via buttons (2003)

    To switch tabs in a tab control programmatically, set the Value of the tab control. 0 = first tab, 1 = second tab etc.

    You could use an option group with toggle buttons. Set the option value of the toggle buttons to 0, 1, etc., and in the On Click event of the option group, set the value of the tab control to the value of the option group

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    L, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany
    Posts
    184
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Tab Control - simulate via buttons (2003)

    Ahh the value did the trick.

    Followup: Isn't there a possibility to have buttons with text AND a little icon in the left (it IS possible with the tab control buttons). As soon as I set a picture for a button, the text is not shown anymore.

    Dennis

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Tab Control - simulate via buttons (2003)

    For command buttons and toggle buttons, it either one or the other. You could create a graphics file that includes an icon and a caption, and set that as picture for the button.

  5. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    L, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany
    Posts
    184
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Tab Control - simulate via buttons (2003)

    ok thanks

  6. #6
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Crystal Beach, FL, Florida, USA
    Posts
    3,436
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 34 Times in 34 Posts

    Re: Tab Control - simulate via buttons (2003)

    >>For command buttons and toggle buttons, it either one or the other.<<

    I thought I read where you could have both Text and an Image on a command button in Access2003? But I don't have this version, so I can't verify it.
    Mark Liquorman
    See my website for Tips & Downloads and for my Liquorman Utilities.

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Tab Control - simulate via buttons (2003)

    I don't have Access 2003 either. I couldn't find a confirmation of this in a quick Google search, but that isn't conclusive, of course.

  8. #8
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Mt Macedon, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    3,993
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 45 Times in 44 Posts

    Re: Tab Control - simulate via buttons (2003)

    I do have 2003, and I don't think you can have both.

    When you add a picture to a button, the caption is no longer displayed, just as in previous versions.

    Help confirms that this is what is supposed to happen.
    Regards
    John



  9. #9
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Crystal Beach, FL, Florida, USA
    Posts
    3,436
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 34 Times in 34 Posts

    Re: Tab Control - simulate via buttons (2003)

    I thought you could put both an icon and an caption on some control, and that it was new in 2003. Could it be anything else?
    Mark Liquorman
    See my website for Tips & Downloads and for my Liquorman Utilities.

  10. #10
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Mt Macedon, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    3,993
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 45 Times in 44 Posts

    Re: Tab Control - simulate via buttons (2003)

    You can put a caption and an image on a page of tab page , as shown below.

    I have not tried before, and I find that I can do it in Access 2000 also.

    i can't find anywhere else I can do it.
    Regards
    John



  11. #11
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    L, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany
    Posts
    184
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Tab Control - simulate via buttons (2003)

    thats right. It works in tabs and that's just beautiful, doesn't work with regular buttons as stated before

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •