Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Michigan, USA
    Posts
    408
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Internet Not Available to Both PCs

    Yesterday I used both my desktop and Notebook PC to access the Internet. Later in the day I couldn't get the Internet from either PC. I tried several things. I tried ipconfig and got the correct IP address. I unplugged the cable for a minute to let it reset itself. I disconnected the router and connected the cable modem directly to the PC. Running ipconfig with it set this way errors out - says it cannot contact my DHCP server. I called the cable company to see if they were having problems. They said they weren't and that my modem looked fine from their end. They set up a service call for early next week. Hmmmm. Today I checked to make sure the ethernet card was solidly in place (and cleaned inside - sheesh where does all the dust come from?). After I put it all back together I retried connecting directly to the internet without the router - no luck. Got the same error message in ipconfig. And also no luck after reconnecting the router. Gave up and sat down with my notebook and lo and behold I'm online! This is 10 minutes after last trying on the desktop. I have had blips before but none that lasted so long. I went right back and tried the desktop and sure enough, I could connect.

    So, the question is why? Why am I able to connect now and only with the router? Should I suspect the cable company's connection? Maybe they were having issues and the technician I talked to didn't know. I really don't want to wait for a service technician (on a work day at that!) but I think I should find out why the direct cable connection doesn't work. It just seems to me that such "flaky" reception means it must be them!?
    <img src=/S/scratch.gif border=0 alt=scratch width=25 height=29>
    <font face="Comic Sans MS"><big><font color=4682b4>Sherry</font color=4682b4></big></font face=comic>

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Internet Not Available to Both PCs

    "Maybe they were having issues and the technician I talked to didn't know"
    Yes, most of the problems the first line tech have no knoweage of. I alway tell them they do now, and ask for a higher level of help ASAP.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Internet Not Available to Both PCs

    <hr>So, the question is why? Why am I able to connect now and only with the router? <hr>
    Since this is cable, and if they're like most, they have your router's MAC address in their system to ensure that you ARE the user. In most cable connections (including mine) if you change hardware MAC address you have to re-authenticate. Some do it automatically and it seems yours at least did so when you put the router back into the loop.

    The only thing I would speculate on is that when you powered down the ROUTER, and re-started it, you may have had to wait a little longer for the cable company's startup and verification to finish. That's what it sounds like on the surface. (or maybe you didn't wait long enough before re-applying power to the router)

  4. #4
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Bellevue, Nebraska, USA
    Posts
    569
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Internet Not Available to Both PCs

    I think BigAl has hit it. I too have cable and every once in awhile, I lose connectivity. Normally the correct way to reset all is to shut down and power off your PCs. IMPORTANT NOTE: ATX form factor PCs (basically every PC out there) require the power supply supplies +5Vsb voltage to the motherboard and PCI ports, even when the power is turned off. Therefore, when resetting the computer, it is necessary to completely unplug the power supply to ensure all the NICs settings are cleared (some power supplies have a master switch that will do).

    Unplug the modem and router. Keep them unplugged for about 2 minutes. Then power up the cable modem. Wait 1 minute. Power up the router. Wait 1 minute. Then power up the PCs.

    In the future, if you lose connectivity on both PCs at once, don't assume it is your computers. If you can access your Router's internal menu, then your PCs are working.
    Bill (AFE7Ret)
    Freedom is NOT Free!
    Heat is the bane of all electronics!

    ─────────────────────

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Internet Not Available to Both PCs

    Good thoughts all, Bill. However, you might want to try a "shortcut" first. My Insight tech support suggested first powering off the ROUTER all by itself (unplug it). Wait a couple of minutes and power it back up. Their explanation was that it often doesn't require doing the modem and the computers, only the router. It's worked twice for me so far and certainly won't hurt anything to try. BUT, Bill's points ARE correct.

  6. #6
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Bellevue, Nebraska, USA
    Posts
    569
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Internet Not Available to Both PCs

    I agree.
    Bill (AFE7Ret)
    Freedom is NOT Free!
    Heat is the bane of all electronics!

    ─────────────────────

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •