Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    387
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Relationships (All)

    Should I create my relationships in the front end or backend?

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Relationships (All)

    Relationships cannot be enforced between databases. If you create relationships in the back end, those will also apply to the same tables in the front end. The only relationships you should create in the front end are for tables that are local to the front end.
    Charlotte

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    387
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Relationships (All)

    Thanks for that now if I could only solve my personal relationship probems that easily!

  4. #4
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Crystal Beach, FL, Florida, USA
    Posts
    3,430
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 33 Times in 33 Posts

    Re: Relationships (All)

    >>...if I could only solve my personal relationship probems that easily!<<

    Just delete them! <img src=/S/sad.gif border=0 alt=sad width=15 height=15>
    Mark Liquorman
    See my website for Tips & Downloads and for my Liquorman Utilities.

  5. #5
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Cape Town, RSA
    Posts
    3,444
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Relationships (All)

    ...or run normalization rules for your relationships.

    Relationships function better when your (foundation) is normalized. <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15> <img src=/S/wink.gif border=0 alt=wink width=15 height=15>
    Regards,
    Rudi

  6. #6
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Crystal Beach, FL, Florida, USA
    Posts
    3,430
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 33 Times in 33 Posts

    Re: Relationships (All)

    >>Relationships function better when your (foundation) is normalized.<<

    I'm not sure about that, a little kinkiness in a relationship is fun.

    Like the song says "I like my women a little on the trashy side"! <img src=/S/laugh.gif border=0 alt=laugh width=15 height=15>
    Mark Liquorman
    See my website for Tips & Downloads and for my Liquorman Utilities.

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 28 Times in 28 Posts

    Re: Relationships (All)

    Watch it, now, or this thread will have to be moved to a different kind of forum <img src=/S/evilgrin.gif border=0 alt=evilgrin width=15 height=15>

  8. #8
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Crystal Beach, FL, Florida, USA
    Posts
    3,430
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 33 Times in 33 Posts

    Re: Relationships (All)

    Oooh. does Woody have a new lounge? Perhaps "Woody's After Hours Lounge"? <img src=/S/wink.gif border=0 alt=wink width=15 height=15>
    Mark Liquorman
    See my website for Tips & Downloads and for my Liquorman Utilities.

  9. #9
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    432
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Relationships (All)

    Thank you for confirming what I have discovered by trial and error. I have Database A, B, and C that all pull data from four different back end files. I recently wanted to add a new table to Database C and create a relatioship to a table that resided in Database B. You can see all the linked tables in the relationships window in Database C but to link the new table to a table in Database B, I had open the backend of Database B, add the new table, create the relationship, then link the new table into database C's front end.

    Carla

  10. #10
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Relationships (All)

    You can create simple relationships between tables in multiple databases, but they aren't much use, since you can't enforce referential integerity between them. <img src=/S/shrug.gif border=0 alt=shrug width=39 height=15>
    Charlotte

  11. #11
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    432
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Relationships (All)

    And that is eactly what I was unable to do enforce referential integrity. I would let me draw th lines but disallowed the setting of referential integrity.
    Carla

  12. #12
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Evergreen, CO, USA
    Posts
    6,613
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 58 Times in 58 Posts

    Re: Relationships (All)

    That exact problem is one of the reasons people migrate to a SQL Server back-end. The size limitation on an Access database suggests you could split one that gets too large into multiple .MDB files and then link to the tables. The inability to enforce referential integrity is the fly in the ointment.
    Wendell

  13. #13
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Wilmington, North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    1,196
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Relationships (All)

    On that note, I have a question: Exactly how BIG can an access database get safely?
    ____________________________
    Jeremy
    "If you spend more on coffee than on IT security, then you will be hacked. What&#39;s more, you deserve to be hacked." -Richard Clarke

  14. #14
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 28 Times in 28 Posts

    Re: Relationships (All)

    This is from the online help (subject: Specifications)

    <table border=1><td align=center>Attribute</td><td align=center>Maximum</td><td>Microsoft Access database (.mdb) file size</td><td>2 gigabytes minus the space needed for system objects.</td><td>Number of objects in a database</td><td align=right>32768</td><td>Modules (including forms and reports with the HasModule property set to True)</td><td align=right>1000</td></table>
    In reality, you'll run into problems before the database gets that big, but it gives you an idea.

  15. #15
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Wilmington, North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    1,196
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Relationships (All)

    Well Iiiiiiiiii'lllllllllllllll be......that's pretty impressive though. As far as a front end/back end split (assuming you don't have pictures in your database tables), the back end could hold quite a bit of info...
    ____________________________
    Jeremy
    "If you spend more on coffee than on IT security, then you will be hacked. What&#39;s more, you deserve to be hacked." -Richard Clarke

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •