Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Bedford, Texas, USA
    Posts
    310
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    fractions in Word (Word 2003, SP1)

    I know how to "turn off" displaying fractions, is there a way to display all fractions in the same format as the default numbers used in AutoCorrect? For instance, 3/8, 11/16, etc?
    Barbara<div align='center'></div>

  2. #2
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    3,788
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: fractions in Word (Word 2003, SP1)

    Hi Barbara

    See the threads beginning with <post#=256202>post 256202</post#> and <post#=338052>post 338052</post#>

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 28 Times in 28 Posts

    Re: fractions in Word (Word 2003, SP1)

    See How can I create a fraction in Word that isn't in any of the fonts I have? on the Word MVP site for ways to create fractions in Word.

  4. #4
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Bedford, Texas, USA
    Posts
    310
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: fractions in Word (Word 2003, SP1)

    Thanks for your suggestion. I found that Woody gave a simple way that I could follow. Is there a way to search through the postings at the Forum? I'd like to research some problems without having to ask questions that have already been addressed.

    Thank you again. As usual, you people at Woody's never let me down!
    Barbara<div align='center'></div>

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Bedford, Texas, USA
    Posts
    310
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: fractions in Word (Word 2003, SP1)

    Thanks for your reply.

    I was interested in the "Macro for formatting ANY fraction you enter" but was stumped right away because I didn't understand the first line:
    Sub EnterFraction().

    I did find an answer in one of Woody's newsletters from 2004.

    I appreciate your responding.
    Barbara<div align='center'></div>

  6. #6
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: fractions in Word (Word 2003, SP1)

    Macros are Visual Basic procedures. All Visual Basic procedures that you can run using the Macros dialog look like this:

    Sub ProcedureName()
    ' The macro code goes in here
    End Sub

    To use a macro from the lounge, you first open the Visual Basic Editor (VBE) from inside your Office application. Usually Alt+F11 will do this, or you can use the menus (Tools>Macro>Macros..., then create a new macro or edit an existing one).

    Once you have the VBE open you can paste in the macro code. If it all ends up on one or two lines, you can first paste it into a Word document, then select and paste it into the VBE. Word is better at understanding some HTML code than the VBE.

    Does this clarify and/or get you to the next step?

  7. #7
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    3,788
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: fractions in Word (Word 2003, SP1)

    Hi Barbara

    Click on the "Search" link available at the top of every page to bring up the search page.

    I see you are a Firefox user so you can also create your own search plugin to make searching the Lounge even quicker.

  8. #8
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Bedford, Texas, USA
    Posts
    310
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: fractions in Word (Word 2003, SP1)

    Thanks! Somehow, I just missed seeing "Search". Now, I know where it is.
    Barbara<div align='center'></div>

  9. #9
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Bedford, Texas, USA
    Posts
    310
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: fractions in Word (Word 2003, SP1)

    Thanks you. I'll give this a try so I won't keep repeating questions that have already been answered.
    Barbara<div align='center'></div>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •