Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Toronto Canada
    Posts
    920
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Lock Datasheet Columns (A2K)

    Seemingly simple, but searching forum didn't locate answer and various attempts went for not.

    Basically, is there a way, when using a datasheet as a subform, to lock the width of the columns so that they can't be altered by the users?
    Cheers,
    Andy

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Lock Datasheet Columns (A2K)

    I believe the usual method is to use a continuous subform formatted to look like a datasheet. Have you tried that? I never use datasheets, so that is the only thing I can suggest.
    Charlotte

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 28 Times in 28 Posts

    Re: Lock Datasheet Columns (A2K)

    Basically, no. You can create a continuous form that looks like a datasheet form. In a continuous form, the users cannot change widths. See the thread starting at <post#=149346>post 149346</post#>.

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Wilmington, North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    1,196
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Lock Datasheet Columns (A2K)

    Hans, a question related to this, maybe it's exactly what you're talking about. If they create a form (either from a query or from a table), and the user can only open it in datasheet view, can't he modify the design to lock the columns? Or is that a continuous form and I need spun up on the "lingo"?
    ____________________________
    Jeremy
    "If you spend more on coffee than on IT security, then you will be hacked. What&#39;s more, you deserve to be hacked." -Richard Clarke

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Toronto Canada
    Posts
    920
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Lock Datasheet Columns (A2K)

    Charlotte & Hans,

    I thank you both kindly for your instanteous help and also pointing towards the applicable thread. It's also nice to see someone else jump in and benefit from my question. I don't feel so guilty that way. Again, thanks,
    Cheers,
    Andy

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 28 Times in 28 Posts

    Re: Lock Datasheet Columns (A2K)

    You can't lock the column layout in a datasheet form. The user can change the column widths, drag columns around etc.
    In a continuous form, the design is completley determined in design view.
    They can be made to look more or less the same.

  7. #7
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Wilmington, North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    1,196
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Lock Datasheet Columns (A2K)

    Ahhh, I need to pay a little closer attention when I read questions. My suggestion would only work for locking the columns for editing, huh....
    ____________________________
    Jeremy
    "If you spend more on coffee than on IT security, then you will be hacked. What&#39;s more, you deserve to be hacked." -Richard Clarke

  8. #8
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Toronto Canada
    Posts
    920
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Lock Datasheet Columns (A2K)

    Hans,

    Thanks again. I did change the form to continuous, reformatted the appearance and all is well in Access Land,
    Cheers,
    Andy

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •