Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Griffith, New South Wales, Australia
    Posts
    507
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    contents of a:\ drive (XP SP2)

    I have a machine that is showing strange behaviour with its floppy drive.

    In Windows explorer, I insert a flopy disk and read its contents. It has, for the sake of argument, file 1 file 2 and file3.

    When I take the floppy out and put in floppy B, it still reads that I have file1, file 2 and file3. I cannot get it to see the contents of Floppy B unless I restart the machine - and then I have the same problem for subsequent floppy disks.

    I have checked for junkware and viruses and am confident that I have as clean a machine as is possible.

    Device Manager tells me that the floppy is functioning correctly.

    Any ideas?

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,329
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,014 Times in 889 Posts

    Re: contents of a:\ drive (XP SP2)

    Have you tried View | Refresh in Windows Explorer? Or selecting a different drive and then selecting the floppy?

    Joe
    Joe

  3. #3
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: contents of a:\ drive (XP SP2)

    It would seem that somewhere (hardware or software) the insertion of the second diskette is not recognised, so Joe's suggestions are the cheapest way out!

    John
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  4. #4
    4 Star Lounger SteveH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Chelsea, Gtr London, United Kingdom
    Posts
    587
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: contents of a:\ drive (XP SP2)

    <!post=This post and thread,356169>This post and thread<!/post> link to a couple of other useful threads. The behaviour you are experiencing is normal in my experience.
    Steve H
    IT Lecturer/Access Developer
    O2K SR3/O2010; Win7Pro

  5. #5
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Griffith, New South Wales, Australia
    Posts
    507
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: contents of a:\ drive (XP SP2)

    Yes, I had tried the refresh, and that didn't work.

    The PC is only about three months old, and I was wondering if it was a hardware issue. I followed that link, and that was the general conclusion.

    Now comes the part about getting the reseller to replace. It should be fun.

    Thanks

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,329
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,014 Times in 889 Posts

    Re: contents of a:\ drive (XP SP2)

    This Disk Contents Are Not Refreshed in Windows Explorer When You Press F5 refers to Win2k but since there was a fix available maybe you can contact MS about a corresponding XP fix.

    Joe
    Joe

  7. #7
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Griffith, New South Wales, Australia
    Posts
    507
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: contents of a:\ drive (XP SP2)

    Thanks for the advice.

    I have emailed Microsoft and will let you know what they say.

    I have also logged a warranty call, so I'll wait and see what happens.

  8. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,329
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,014 Times in 889 Posts

    Re: contents of a:\ drive (XP SP2)

    BTW, I saw a MS KB article that there was a fix in XP SP-2 for similar symptoms. So, don't let MS put you off if they say update to the latest service pack.

    Joe
    Joe

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •