Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Boulder, Colorado, USA
    Posts
    212
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    zonealarm 4.5 to 5.5 upgrade

    I'm thinking of upgrading from my free zonealarm 4.5 to 5.5, and I wonder if I can just install 5.5 over 4.5,
    or at least uninstall 4.5 in a simple, one step kind of way (clean uninstalls that were recommended a year ago
    are rather complex, in having many substeps). Has anyone read stuff on this or experienced it?
    (I have XPH and NAV2003pro)
    Thanks,
    yerubal

  2. #2
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Bellevue, Nebraska, USA
    Posts
    569
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: zonealarm 4.5 to 5.5 upgrade

    Just download and run the install program - it will recognize that you have a previous version installed and keep your current settings (unless you instruct it to start over). Note - during the new install, the installer program will attempt to shut down your old version and yell at you. Let it shut down and do its thing.

    Once your new ZA is setup, I suggest you change the preferences to have it automatically check for update. It is a mistake to NOT update your security applications promptly as the updates are normally released to address new threats.

    Another note - there was a problem with earlier ZA update (5.0) that caused a few "very vocal" users to have connectivity issues after updating. ZoneLabs, to their credit, quickly acknowledged the problem and put out 5.1 - I have 6 systems here running ZA (3 Pro, and 3 Free) and never had a problem. I only mention this as some folks never stop bringing that up for some reason - it is past history and no, I do not own stock in ZoneLabs!

    Finally, I hope you have upgraded to SP2 by now - if not, then you are certainly putting you and your computer at risk. SP2's Windows Firewall is enabled by default - never run two firewalls at once so make sure you disable Windows Firewall as it is woefully inadequate anyway. Smart choice going with a good 3rd party FW - and ZA is a favorite.
    Bill (AFE7Ret)
    Freedom is NOT Free!
    Heat is the bane of all electronics!

    ─────────────────────

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: zonealarm 4.5 to 5.5 upgrade

    I've been using ZA Pro for years and keep it upgraded and active even though I also have a hardware firewall in my router. With the significant version difference between 4.5 and 5.5, it may not be a good idea to install over, but since I never tried that, I can't say for certain. You should be able to find plenty of information on upgrading on the ZoneAlarm site, and I urge you to step through the tutorials since the Pro version has a lot of bells and whistles missing in the free version.
    Charlotte

  4. #4
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Bellevue, Nebraska, USA
    Posts
    569
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: zonealarm 4.5 to 5.5 upgrade

    Every ZA update is an "install over" - when you are notified that ZA has an update, you download the whole package - it is not an update of a few select files. The difference between the options merely accounts for all the permissions you had set before.

    Therefore, going from 4.5 to 5.5 is really no different from 5.4 to 5.5 - it is still a full install. That is not to say you will do harm by uninstalling the old before installing the new - but be warned that once you do that, you will have to teach ZA your network connection, the "Trusted Zone" settings for the other computers in your trusted zone, and access permissions for all your programs. Not a difficult chore regardless.

    Also, there is no comparison between a firewall in a router - and a software based firewall. In fact, the typical SOHO router from Linksys, D-Link, Netgear, etc. does NOT have a true Firewall at all! It is simply "NAT" - Network Address Translation - that acts similar to a true hardware based firewall by hiding your true IP address from the "outside". However - ANYTHING that comes from the trusted side of the router (one of your computers) will be considered by the router as valid - even if that is your stolen personal information or credit card numbers being "phoned home" by a Trojan or other spyware. Therefore, every computer that connects to the internet should have a software or client based firewall. Every broadband user should ALSO have a router that supports NAT - even with a network of 1.
    Bill (AFE7Ret)
    Freedom is NOT Free!
    Heat is the bane of all electronics!

    ─────────────────────

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: zonealarm 4.5 to 5.5 upgrade

    You're preaching to the choir, Bill, and I wasn't trying to compare them. I've never run without a software firewall, not since I first had an internet connection. And in my personal experience with ZA, when I upgraded to 5.x, it required reteaching anyhow. Your mileage may vary. <img src=/S/shrug.gif border=0 alt=shrug width=39 height=15>
    Charlotte

  6. #6
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: zonealarm 4.5 to 5.5 upgrade

    > Every broadband user should ALSO have a router that supports NAT - even with a network of 1.

    Too bad there aren't any free routers, as there are with software firewalls.

    It might be worthwhile noting that the functions of a traditional, multiple-port router can be replaced with a Wi-Fi router; there is no need to have both, and wireless may be more practical for those who don't want to run wires. (Look for WPA support on all your wi-fi products.)

  7. #7
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Bellevue, Nebraska, USA
    Posts
    569
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: zonealarm 4.5 to 5.5 upgrade

    Charlotte - you're right - mileage may vary - and the main thing is everyone agrees a software based firewall is essential - and a NAT router.

    And Jeff, you are right too - except wireless is still much more expensive. A 10/100 NIC is a few dollars - and most motherboards have one (and maybe a 1Gb too) built in. And you don't have the added security issues with wireless.

    But I will concede that staying out of my attic crawl space is a huge advantage to WiFi.
    Bill (AFE7Ret)
    Freedom is NOT Free!
    Heat is the bane of all electronics!

    ─────────────────────

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •