Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    oakland, California
    Posts
    40
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Error 616 (windows XP home)

    While attempting to install software a week ago, I received the following error message: error 616 could not access network location %USERPROFILE%recent Now I searched and found information on checking the %ALLUSERSPROFILE% in HKEY LOCAL_MACHINESOFTWAREMICROSOFT WINDOWSCO]URRENTVERSION and so forth. Checked and all were correct. Tried Windows Installer Clean Up utility and it won't load; with the same error 616 message. I am about ready to reload Windows XP but wonder if anyone has a clue? I don't mind wandering through the Registry but have removed all traces of the original program I was trying to reinstall, Roxio CD/DVD software, and trying to install other software get the same message. Is this a residual command that is not getting removed. I have run Norton Win Doctor, virus scanned, use Zone Alarm as a firewall, Counter Spy etc. so I don't think it is a virus. I would appreciate expert assistance since nothing works to get past this point. Event viewer shows the events but no clue to how to fix it.

    Cbsimkins

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Error 616 (windows XP home)

    It seemed to be related to dialup networking (DUN). I found this here
    Error 616: An asynchronous request is pending.

    But then I found this one here, here & here
    616 Drive speed error.

    So I'm guessing that there is a problem with your CD ROM drive.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    New York, New York, USA
    Posts
    2,328
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Error 616 (windows XP home)

    This error message means, that Setup could not access Cocuments and Settings <your username> Recent folder on your hard drive. "Network location" is a clue: Setup looks in all local and network drives and assumes that a network drive is inaccessable (error 616).

    I would suggest:

    - Update your Windows Installer to v.3.0 (Windows Installer 3.0 is available)
    This update fix several bugs.

    - And also try to install your program from Installation Mode:
    Start | Control Panel | Add or Remove Programs | Add New Programs (on the left pane) | CD or Floppy button | Browse

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,592
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: Error 616 (windows XP home)

    I'd recommend Download details: Windows Installer 3.1 Redistributable instead. Why not go with the latest?

    Joe
    Joe

  5. #5
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    oakland, California
    Posts
    40
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Error 616 (windows XP home)

    Thanks, I checked and not the answer. Drives were fine and problem persisted so I reinstalled XP and things are fine now. Fortunately everything was backed up , but Registry was corrupted for some reason. Probably something stupid I did.

  6. #6
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    oakland, California
    Posts
    40
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Error 616 (windows XP home)

    Thanks, but I could not install the program due to the error. Solution was to reinstall WindowsXP which solved problems. Reformatted hard drive and as everything was backed up, I didn't lose any data only time in reinstalling some programs. Moved some data files for programs over and saved time in reinstalling links and stuff.
    CBS

  7. #7
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Error 616 (windows XP home)

    Glad it worked out for you. Sometimes a reinstall is easier than trying to troubleshoot the problem. Especially if you had the foresight to make good backups. <img src=/S/thumbup.gif border=0 alt=thumbup width=15 height=15>
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •