Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    London, Gtr London, England
    Posts
    357
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    RE: Slow Application Load-up (SP1)

    When I load programs such Excel it takes an age before the application is loaded and launched. I have a read a little and defragmentation of the hard disc seems to be recommended. What is the best procedure in such sitiations in order to speed-up the launch of applications? Thanks.

    F

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: RE: Slow Application Load-up (SP1)

    Defragging is certainly a possibility and should be performed "once in awhile" (said in spite of the fact that I run one every night <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>) I don't know if you'll be satisfied with the XP defragger or, like many of us, resort to a third party program. But, I have to ask some usual questions: 1) what AV program are you running; 2) have you run malware detection programs like AdAware and Spybot lately; 3) have you looked in MSCONFIG (or other product) to see what's loading at startup to see if something is "hogging" your system, thereby slowing down app load times; 4) and finally, how slow is slow - how long from click-to-spreadsheet screen when you run Excel?

    Let us hear more from you.

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    London, Gtr London, England
    Posts
    357
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: RE: Slow Application Load-up (SP1)

    Is there a problem with running XP defragger? What is AV? I have not run those progs. There are lots of files on MSCONFIG - is there any way I can obtain a copy and paste it to a post here? I guess it takes about 0ne minute for Excel to load. Thanks.

    F

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: RE: Slow Application Load-up (SP1)

    Well, first things first. AV = antivirus, probably the most important application on one's computer these days, after the operating system. Do you have an antivirus program running and up to date? If not, that's problem #1. As for spyware/malware, you should take a look <!post=at this StarPost,385669>at this StarPost<!/post> and <!post=this one,296439>this one<!/post> for some guidance and links for downloading. It's free stuff and very necessary. We really need to clear these two topics up before we tackle MSCONFIG. The running of AdAware and Spybot might remove one or more "bad guys" from your startup list.

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Nottingham, Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
    Posts
    326
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: RE: Slow Application Load-up (SP1)

    Yes, as Al said, first get an anti-virus program & run an up-to-date scan. If however, there's been a bit of confusion in terms and you DO already have such a program, it may be worth checking the settings for it, to ensure that it isn't set to scan EVERY application EVERY time it's opened. Norton Antivirus is notoriously slow when set to do this & shows the symptoms you describe.

    Two more questions- how much RAM do you have, and how much space do you have left on your hard drive(s)? Lack of RAM, in conjunction with lots of startup programs, can serously slow down a system. Finally, has this problem just started recently? Has it always been like this, or has it slowly got worse over time?
    <font color=448800><font face="Comic Sans MS"><big>Lyra J </font color=448800></font face=comic></big>
    <img src=/S/flags/UK.gif border=0 alt=UK width=30 height=18> Ducking the arrows in Robin Hood country <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/Lyra_J_sig.gif ALT="No, Admins, no! I'm sorry, okay!" title="No, Admins, no! I'm sorry, okay!">

  6. #6
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    London, Gtr London, England
    Posts
    357
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: RE: Slow Application Load-up (SP1)

    I have Norton Anti-virus and have recently run a scan. Also, I'm pretty sure it does not scan each time an application is loaded.

    Some of the anti-spyware prgs require purchase. Is there a link to any site which do not require that I purchase at this stage? Thanks.

    I have 256 RAM and I have 5.91 Gb on my D drive free and 2.9 Gb frr on my C drive, which holds the Excel software. I guess that it's all be slowly getting worse. Thanks.

    F

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: RE: Slow Application Load-up (SP1)

    Is your Norton up to date?

    See <!post=this StarPost,296439>this StarPost<!/post> for the freebies that are most often recommended!

    Next, can you give us a screenshot of what MSCONFIG says you have running?

  8. #8
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Nottingham, Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
    Posts
    326
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: RE: Slow Application Load-up (SP1)

    Some of the anti-spyware prgs require purchase. Is there a link to any site which do not require that I purchase at this stage?
    __________________________________________________ ___________________________________

    Yes, there's plenty to free anti-spy/malware software available. Try <!post=this post,296439>this post<!/post> for some useful links, as well as Microsoft Anti-Spyware

    Hope these all help.
    <font color=448800><font face="Comic Sans MS"><big>Lyra J </font color=448800></font face=comic></big>
    <img src=/S/flags/UK.gif border=0 alt=UK width=30 height=18> Ducking the arrows in Robin Hood country <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/Lyra_J_sig.gif ALT="No, Admins, no! I'm sorry, okay!" title="No, Admins, no! I'm sorry, okay!">

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •