Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: avg

  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Prescott, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    286
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    avg

    After getting and ( I think ) removing a nasty worm (netsky??) There are some web pages that I can not get on. For example www.grisoft.com. I can go to any other grisoft page but when I try to go to the home page it says:

    "The connection was refused when attempting to contact www.grisoft.com"

    There are a few others too. ????

    Edit.... I just got the same message when trying to get on "support.microsoft.com"
    Michael

  2. #2
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: avg

    Very occasionally I get a problem with "Connection refused", usually when I got impatient as my userid started up in the morning. Nothing to do with Norton AV (as far as I am aware). The problem goes away after a reboot and a bit more (self-enforced) patience...

    John
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  3. #3
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,585
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: avg

    There is some malware that will block update and security related sites. Have you done another complete A/V scan? How about Adaware, Spybot & MS Antispyware scans?

    Joe
    Joe

  4. #4
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Prescott, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    286
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: avg

    Thanks Joe,
    Yes, and that is why I posted , as I read up about the malware that I had, and it said that it would block access to such sites. I ran AVG and a HOST of others to get rid of it. I had to go next door to a neighbor to get to the AVG grisoft site to download the "Vcleaner ' they have.
    I ran it in Safe mode.
    Hence, According to all my scans, I have gotten rid of the worm. But I still can't get on www.grisoft.com and a host of related sites, (As I stated above includes "support.microsoft.com") which leads me to think that I still have 'something' left over from the worm. I have flushed the cache on both Explorer and Firefox.
    But I am now as a lost as what to do next.
    Any Ideas.......
    Michael

  5. #5
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: avg

    Check Internet Options>Security>Restricted Sites>Sites.
    Look for any of those addresses that it may have added to your restricted sites list. Delete as necessary.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  6. #6
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: avg

    I've only skimmed this thread quickly, but if you haven't already done so, look for a hosts file and see if the problem domains have been redirected.

  7. #7
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Prescott, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    286
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: avg

    Your the MAN!
    The nasty thing had put In the host file every major virus detection web site and redirected them back to my computer!

    Now, I used Microsoft sypware (tools) to go look at the host file and I blocked them from there. Is that ok to do? Or is there a better way?

    Thanks again.
    Michael

  8. #8
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    5,016
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: avg

    If you (or any of your programs) don't have a particular need for the hosts file, you can just rename it to, say, hosts.old or delete it. Alternatively, there are various pre-made host files, designed to avoid a "host" of pesky sites, for instance here. I think one or other of the free anti-spyware apps also has an option to lock the hosts file.

    Alan

  9. #9
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: avg

    I haven't installed the MS product, so I have no idea what it did. However, if all seems to be working again, I guess it did the right thing. <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>

  10. #10
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: avg

    Spybot S&D in Advance Mode In the Tools section has a Host file access that allows you to edit the Host file and also offers to create a backup of your Host file when you first install Spybot, should it ever be damaged, compromised or corrupted. HTH
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  11. #11
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Prescott, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    286
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: avg

    Thanks everyone....
    I have learned a lot about Host files in the last couple of days thanks to you and a nasty worm...........

    I think I am all cleaned up and back to normal.

    Thanks again
    Michael

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •