Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: NSLOOKUP

  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    298
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    NSLOOKUP

    Hi,

    I've just changed ISP's and since then I am having significant problems with my server accessing the Internet. I can get my clients to directly access the Internet (via the router) but not via AD/DNS. A friend of mine who knows a bit about this kind of stuff reckons it's set up pretty good but the key point is that I can't resolve properly from the server.

    He reckons the following (when I type

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: NSLOOKUP

    We need lots more information about your network setup before we can help with this one.

    What server operating system are you using? How many servers do you have? What DNS server are you using on your network (may be as part of server configuration or a hardware device). How is the DNS server configured? What is the device at address 192.168.1.2 etc.

    StuartR

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    298
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Server 2003

    Hi Stuart,

    OS is MS Server 2003 Enterprise (1 server, IBM x206 ... this is a home network)
    DNS is MS Active Directory (is/was configured to forward any unknown DNS resolution to my ISP)

    IP's
    Router (USR 9003): 192.168.1.1
    Server (Win2K3 Ent): 192.168.1.2

    DHCP
    Scope: 192.168.1.1 to 254
    Exclusions: 192.168.1.1 to 64
    Router: 192.168.1.1
    DNS: ISP DNS Servers


    Note:
    Current DHCP config (WRT DNS addresses) is ONLY so we can work right now, I realise that DNS should be forwarding through DNS/AD. Server is configured to point to itself with DNS forwarders to ISP DNS servers.

    ipconfig /all on Windows 2003 server:

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : ar-faith-dc
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . : sunnydale.fav
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : sunnydale.fav

    Ethernet adapter Sunnydale:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel® PRO/1000 CT Network Connection
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-0D-60-83-3B-39
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.2
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.2
    Primary WINS Server . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.2


    When I intially switched ISP's the server WAS working, now it isn't ... I cannot swear blind that the server is configured exactly as it was before only pointing to the new ISP's DNS servers but it should be more or less.

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: Server 2003

    It looks basically right to me.

    Did you get that NSLOOKUP error message on the server or on a client computer?

    Have you checked the event log for errors, you should see a number of DNS related events shortly after starting the server.

    I am not familiar with Windows Server 2003, and I am currently in a hotel room with very little network access. Can you find the DNS application in Administrative tools and look at all the tabs to see if it still has "Test" and "Recursive Test" buttons, if so then try these and see what they do.

    StuartR

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    298
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Server 2003

    Hi Stuart,

    It would seem the problem has resolved itself.

    I put an alternative router that I was about to sell on eBay in its place, made it the same IP, entered the connection details and WHAP BANG, it all started working except for one part of DNS. It seems that some aspect of my original router was faulty or incompatible with my new ISP.

    The DNS required the addition of a reverse lookup zone, slight modification of DHCP and everything worked completely from then on in.

    Anyway, I apologise for wasting your time ... I genuinely thought it was a config issue rather than hardware!

    Many thanks for your help :-)

    James

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: Server 2003

    Great, glad you got it fixed, thanks for letting us know.

    StuartR

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •