Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger AndrewKKWalker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Cambridge, UK
    Posts
    1,020
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    External table NOT in Expected Format (Paradox) (2000)

    I have some Paradox Tables that give the error message
    External Table is NOT in expected format.

    They come from a Delphi Application, BUT are Pardox 3, 4 and 5 compatible.
    On the main office machine I copied the required files (inc indexes)
    to another folder.
    I linked to them successfully in this folder.
    No problems at all.

    I then copied the entire directory (all files .db, indexes and access database) to
    a memory stick (and a CD as backup)
    Took it home, and I now get the error message (see image)

    They were linked with the Standard Microsoft Drive
    Here is an example from MsysObjects of the link info (that worked OK)

    Connect Database Name
    Paradox 3.X;HDR=NO;IMEX=2; C:ACCESS_RDBParadox_DB diary

    Not only do they not work at home, but I cannot clear them and re-link

    ANY IDEAS?

    The only thing I can think is that I need the BDE Engine installed on this machine.
    Or, there is something else on the office pc that is not here.

    This will also be an issue when we try to move it to other work machines, so
    PLEEEEEAAAAASE! Any one know what is going on here.

    I have searched the forums, and it appears to be an issue, but no one knows the answer.

    Thanks
    Andrew

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: External table NOT in Expected Format (Paradox) (2000)

    What image <img src=/S/scratch.gif border=0 alt=scratch width=25 height=29>

    According to the online help and Microsoft Office Assistance: About applications that work with Access, linking to Paradox tables "requires updated ISAM drivers available from Microsoft Technical Support".

    Perhaps also relevant:
    How to use Paradox data with Access and Jet
    You receive a "Could not find installable ISAM" error message or some file types are missing when you import files, export files, or link files in Access 2000

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger AndrewKKWalker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Cambridge, UK
    Posts
    1,020
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Re: External table NOT in Expected Format (Paradox

    I forgot the image, but it jusr said

    External Table is mspbde40.dll.
    OK HELP

    The ms help of course being no good at all.

    I tried these links.

    Trouble is it doesn't tell you where to get these updated ISAM drivers.
    And you cannot find them on Borlands site either (at least I couldn't)

    I think it might be a BDE issue.

    Trouble is I haven't got the BDE at home.
    OK, I admit that Paradox is %^&* but I have to work with it
    because the data we need sits in a Delphi App that uses Paradox and BDE, but has rubbish reporting tools
    and we don't have a copy of Crystal reports.

    SO, I am still stuck.
    Andrew

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: External table NOT in Expected Format (Paradox

    Which version of Jet 4.0 is installed on your PC? You can use the instructions in How to obtain the latest service pack for the Microsoft Jet 4.0 Database Engine to check the version.

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger AndrewKKWalker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Cambridge, UK
    Posts
    1,020
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Re: External table NOT in Expected Format (Paradox

    Jet SP 8.0
    Actually 4.0.8618.0 which 8.0 + Security Patch

    Everything is the most up to date version. ( I'd checked this)

    According to Microsoft I should be able to link to the tables without the BDE.

    BUT, maybe the tables are not Paradox 3, 4 or 5
    and the fact that the work machine has the BDE on it gets round that problem, but here
    it fails because the BDE is not installed.

    This would also seem to fit in with an interesting phenomena on the work pc.

    It has BDE on it because of the DELPHI application

    If you use Access with copies of the paradox table it works fine
    (They were on C drive)
    If however, you open up the Delphi app which uses the real
    tables on J drive, then it works fine.
    But, if You try to open up the access database on the same pc
    even though it is using copies of the tables, it fails with
    the same error message.
    Alternativel if Access is running on tables on C and using them
    and you start the Delphi app using the tables on drive J, it has a wobbly.
    BUT, they both work ok if the other one isn't.
    Hmmmmmmmmm. Might be on to something here.

    Could be something to do with the way that the Borland BDE is configured.
    (That's the one that I don't have here).

    It's good to talk.
    Andrew

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger AndrewKKWalker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Cambridge, UK
    Posts
    1,020
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Re: External table NOT in Expected Format (Paradox

    Incidentally.
    I get the same error if I try to use MSQUERY from Excel.
    Even if I use a DSN to link to the tables.

    I've also tried it from VB using ADODB, but it freaks out on that as well.
    Andrew

  7. #7
    5 Star Lounger AndrewKKWalker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Cambridge, UK
    Posts
    1,020
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Re: External table NOT in Expected Format (Paradox

    I've just tried it with a small VB6 application
    and I get exactly the same error when I try to use an ado data control to retrieve the data into a data grid there as well.
    Andrew

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: External table NOT in Expected Format (Paradox

    Hmm, MSQuery uses ODBC, not the Jet engine. If MSQuery can't read the tables, they probably aren't standard Paradox tables, the Paradox ODBC driver is pretty generic.

  9. #9
    5 Star Lounger AndrewKKWalker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Cambridge, UK
    Posts
    1,020
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Re: External table NOT in Expected Format (Paradox

    Yes.

    Me thinks that I need to install the BDE and see if it makes all the difference.

    If it solves the problem then I know that they are NOT standard.
    Also we write snotty letters to the vendors
    who supply almost non existent support,
    can't provide a relationship model
    and say that it works with the standard Paradox driver (which it blatantly doesn't.)

    I need a different job!

    Never mind, I'm off to Scotland in 2 weeks time for a holiday with NO COMPUTER!
    (We'll just the hand held GPS anyway).
    Oh yes, and lot's of warm clothing.

    Thanks anyway.
    Andrew

  10. #10
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: External table NOT in Expected Format (Paradox

    Enjoy the haggis <img src=/S/evilgrin.gif border=0 alt=evilgrin width=15 height=15>

  11. #11
    5 Star Lounger AndrewKKWalker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Cambridge, UK
    Posts
    1,020
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Re: External table NOT in Expected Format (Paradox

    Och man, it's too cold, they're still hibernating!
    Andrew

  12. #12
    5 Star Lounger AndrewKKWalker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Cambridge, UK
    Posts
    1,020
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Re: External table NOT in Expected Format (Paradox

    Eureka!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Nuff said.

    I found a German site that had a free version of BDE on it.
    (Borland don't have it on there site only an upgrade)

    Then got version 5.1 upgrade from Borland which was great.

    OK, all the menus are in German, but I can live with that.

    ANYWAY.

    Installed it, and it all works just fine.

    So thanks for letting me bounce ideas off you.
    The issue is with the version.
    AND, despite what Microsoft say.

    Jet 8.0 is NOT enough, you need the Borland BDE
    or it AIN'T GONNA WORK.

    It is now very very late over here
    and I am off to hit the sack.

    So gute Nacht und danken Ihnen
    Andrew

  13. #13
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: External table NOT in Expected Format (Paradox

    Glad you found a solution! <img src=/S/thumbup.gif border=0 alt=thumbup width=15 height=15>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •