Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Long Island, NY
    Posts
    113
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Firefox (ver1.0.3) Hijack? (IE 6.0 - all updates)

    I had been using Firefox as my default browser. I thought</font color=red> I was safer. I did not like the way it worked on EBay and a few other places, but I kept it as my default browser thinking that it was safer than IE. After reading the last few issues of The Langa List I decided to go back to IE for many reasons.

    So I went into IE and checked the box for asking about default browser and went on my merry way opening IE. It didn't ask me but I innocently hoped I was switched. I should have known I wasn't but sometimes stupidity reigns. I was in my e-mail program and clicked on a link and Firefox (ver 1.0.3) opened as my default browser. OK - So I went into file types on my computer and changed the "open with" command from Firefox to IE. And then tried to open some shortcuts on my desktop. They opened in Firefox. So I highlighted one shortcut, held down shift and clicked on Open With and clicked IE and clicked ALWAYS OPEN WITH THIS PROGRAM. It opened in IE. I closed it and noticed it still had the Firefox icon. I opened it again. Firefox! I did the shift "open with" AGAIN. And I checked the ALWAYS boxs. And closed it and went and reopened it. Firefox. <img src=/S/hairout.gif border=0 alt=hairout width=31 height=23>

    I just removed Firefox from my machine and rebooted. And there were the icons to Firefox. I clicked on the shortcuts and I got the box that says "search the web for a program to open this". I tired to do the ALWAYS OPEN WITH again. Nope. Didn't work. I got the same gray box asking me to go to the net to find a program to open the shortcut.

    I will ask a friend to go into the registry and take it out for me, (I am assuming that that is what I will have to be done). I do not deal with the registry because I am pretty sure I would be very very dangerous in there. I tend to sometimes go a bit overboard <img src=/S/blush.gif border=0 alt=blush width=15 height=15>.

    I am wondering, though, if anyone else has had this problem. As I am thinking about it when I went to my program files and opened the Firefox folder there was no uninstall icon. I used the Add Remove Programs to remove it. But as I think about it, why wasn't there a remove icon? I am really surprised that Firefox seemds to be doing this. I guess I had an idealized view of Firefox that was first challenged by Fred Langa about a week ago, then again with the issue I linked to above, and now this. I am disappointed. <img src=/S/disappointed.gif border=0 alt=disappointed width=15 height=15>

  2. #2
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Firefox (ver1.0.3) Hijack? (IE 6.0 - all updat

    Somewhere in IE's options there is a checkbox to see if it is the default browser when you start it up. It should then repair all the references in the registry to browser-related functions to refer to IE.

    By the way, I couldn't imagine what Fred Langa could have written about Firefox that made you stop using it. I clicked through a few links and apparently all of the so-far-disclosed issues were resolved in last week's update. Phew! (I'm sure that more will be found and fixed, as that's the nature of complicated software.) But I do think you can use Internet Explorer reasonably safely if you exercise strict control over active content, and I still use IE for a few work-related (trusted) sites that don't work well with Firefox. <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Long Island, NY
    Posts
    113
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Firefox (ver1.0.3) Hijack? (IE 6.0 - all updat

    You wrote: Somewhere in IE's options there is a checkbox to see if it is the default browser when you start it up. It should then repair all the references in the registry to browser-related functions to refer to IE.

    I have tried that. Numerous times. It is just not working. Nothing I am doing is working. Even going into file types and checking the ALWAYS OPEN WITH box does not do it. Hopefully my friend will get to the registry for me tonight or tomorrow and he will be able to fix it.

    What Fred Langa wrote just let me go back to using IE without feeling like too much of a sucker <img src=/S/blush.gif border=0 alt=blush width=15 height=15>. I absolutely HATE the Google bar in Firefox and I use it all the time. That and EBay and a number of games which are not supported in Firefox are the reason why I am switching back. I still have the .exe file to reinstall Firefox (I save all my install - .exe files), and I will reinstall it - but not as my default browser. I have too much trouble with E-Bay with FIrefox and clicking on E-Bay links in e-mails is something that is a regular part of my day. But I do not want to reinstall Firefox until the registry is cleaned of the prior install. I remember when I installed it, it asked me if I wanted to make it my default browser. This time I will tick the box for NO. I had previously reinstalled it and the default browser question was noticably missing. I hope it is because it is already set in the registry and once I get it out it will once again ask me the question. (Hope springs eternal).

    I am just really disillusioned with my inability to get the browser out. It really feels like a hijack to me and that is why I posted.

    (Hey - how come the word "browser" is not recognized in the spell check <img src=/S/question.gif border=0 alt=question width=15 height=15>.)

  4. #4
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Nottingham, Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
    Posts
    326
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Firefox (ver1.0.3) Hijack? (IE 6.0 - all updat

    I absolutely HATE the Google bar in Firefox and I use it all the time
    __________________________________________________

    Eh? <img src=/S/confused3.gif border=0 alt=confused3 width=45 height=45>
    <font color=448800><font face="Comic Sans MS"><big>Lyra J </font color=448800></font face=comic></big>
    <img src=/S/flags/UK.gif border=0 alt=UK width=30 height=18> Ducking the arrows in Robin Hood country <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/Lyra_J_sig.gif ALT="No, Admins, no! I'm sorry, okay!" title="No, Admins, no! I'm sorry, okay!">

  5. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Long Island, NY
    Posts
    113
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Firefox (ver1.0.3) Hijack? (IE 6.0 - all updat

    The Google Bar for Firefox tries to predict what I will be asking for. I start to type something in it and it drops down to give me suggestions. I know this is the experimental feature Google Suggest but I can not seem to turn this off. I try in the options part of the tool bar, and untick the box, but it still suggests. <img src=/S/hairout.gif border=0 alt=hairout width=31 height=23> I have removed and reinstalled the Google Bar twice and it still "suggests". I wouldn't mind having the Suggest feature if I did not have to click the drop down box to get rid of the suggestions before it lets me type another letter into the search box. It is type and click and type and click and type and click ad infinitum. What a royal pain in the butt. <img src=/S/bummer.gif border=0 alt=bummer width=15 height=15>.

    I mainly use the Google Bar for searching a site, images and Froogle. AFAIK, I can not use the Firefox built in Google search feature for that. So I am stuck with the Google Bar for those searches. And since I seem not to be able to turn off the Suggest feature it is a real pain. What I am currently doing is typing what I want into the built in search box and then copy and pasting it into the Google Bar to do the kind of search I need.

    I have reinstalled Firefox because I can not get IE back as my default browser. I am still waiting on my friend to do the registry for me. He has been exhausted and comes home from work (he works 7 days a week) , we eat dinner and he is off to bed. Maybe sometime soon. Or not. <img src=/S/shrug.gif border=0 alt=shrug width=39 height=15> Anyone want to come to Long Island and mess with my registry? <img src=/w3timages/icons/tongue.gif border=0 alt=tongue width=15 height=15>

  6. #6
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Vienna, Wien, Austria
    Posts
    5,009
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Firefox (ver1.0.3) Hijack? (IE 6.0 - all updat

    >I mainly use the Google Bar for searching a site, images and Froogle. AFAIK, I can not use the Firefox built in Google search feature for that.

    Perhaps the problem is the necessary Searching syntax?

    For searching a site - such as Microsoft - using the built-in Firefox Google Bar, you need to add

    site:microsoft.com

    to the search terms - making sure you put a gap before the beginning of the word site.

    For searching Google Images, you need to add a plug-in to Firefox. Go to http://mycroft.mozdev.org/download.html and type Google Images into the Search Bar. You will then be able to have the necessary plug-in installed. Then you can choose that form of search by clicking on the Logo Icon in the built-in search bar.

    HTh
    Gre

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •