Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 34
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Chicago, Illinois, USA
    Posts
    159
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Dial-up Connection Prompt? (XP Pro)

    I think my computer is possessed.

    For no apparent reason, a dial-up connection prompt keeps popping up on my screen.

    I'm on DSL.. So why does my computer keep trying to dial-up? How do I stop this?

    Thank you.

    Neal

  2. #2
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Salem, New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Dial-up Connection Prompt? (XP Pro)

    Neil > Start >Control Panel > Internet Options > Connections - Never dial a connection > Apply > Ok
    Windows Exorsicm 101

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Chicago, Illinois, USA
    Posts
    159
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Dial-up Connection Prompt? (XP Pro)

    I really like the idea of a Windows exorcism.

    But Never dial a connection is already selected.

    What do we do now?

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Salem, New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Dial-up Connection Prompt? (XP Pro)

    Neal,
    I think i would take a look in the System Configuration Utility for possible demons. Start > Run - type - msconfig.exe - Enter > start up

  5. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Chicago, Illinois, USA
    Posts
    159
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Dial-up Connection Prompt? (XP Pro)

    I can do that.

    Other than guys with horns and pitchforks, what kind of demons am I looking for?

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Salem, New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Dial-up Connection Prompt? (XP Pro)

    Neal,
    With bible and cross in hand, look for some software that might be running from an earlier internet connection. Maybe something that you did not install yourself.

  7. #7
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Chicago, Illinois, USA
    Posts
    159
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Dial-up Connection Prompt? (XP Pro)

    Nothing really stood out.

    However, I did find an old version of Zone Alarm (which remained somehow after I'd uninstalledit a while ago).

    I've restarted the computer and so far no prompts.

    Thanks for the help.

    Neal

  8. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Salem, New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Dial-up Connection Prompt? (XP Pro)

    Neal,
    I would take a quick spin by Download.com for a copy of Tweak Now Registry Cleaner (freeware) and run it. Also Diskeeper from Executive software is a worthwhile investment if only to de-frag the registry.

  9. #9
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Nottingham, Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
    Posts
    326
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Dial-up Connection Prompt? (XP Pro)

    You may also have some malware on your system. See <!post=this post,296439 >this post<!/post> for details of some recommended software. Give these a try if you haven't already.
    <font color=448800><font face="Comic Sans MS"><big>Lyra J </font color=448800></font face=comic></big>
    <img src=/S/flags/UK.gif border=0 alt=UK width=30 height=18> Ducking the arrows in Robin Hood country <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/Lyra_J_sig.gif ALT="No, Admins, no! I'm sorry, okay!" title="No, Admins, no! I'm sorry, okay!">

  10. #10
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Chicago, Illinois, USA
    Posts
    159
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Dial-up Connection Prompt? (XP Pro)

    That's a really good idea.

    However, I already have Ad-Aware (the paid version) running and I run Spybot every day.

    On top of that, my system seems to be running a bit slow for no apparent reason.

    Can you suggest any other malware/spyware detection software to use?

    Thank you.

    Neal

  11. #11
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Nottingham, Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
    Posts
    326
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Dial-up Connection Prompt? (XP Pro)

    You could try Microsoft Anti-Spyware , or some other recommendations <!post=here,385669>here<!/post>
    <font color=448800><font face="Comic Sans MS"><big>Lyra J </font color=448800></font face=comic></big>
    <img src=/S/flags/UK.gif border=0 alt=UK width=30 height=18> Ducking the arrows in Robin Hood country <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/Lyra_J_sig.gif ALT="No, Admins, no! I'm sorry, okay!" title="No, Admins, no! I'm sorry, okay!">

  12. #12
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Chicago, Illinois, USA
    Posts
    159
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Dial-up Connection Prompt? (XP Pro)

    I had MS Antispyware installed but it caused a conflict with the Oxford English Dictionary. (Go figure.)

    And I don't think I'm advanced enough for the other software Doc Watson recommended. If it has the potential to wipe out a system, I'll likely do it (by accident).

    Now what do I do?

    Thanks.

    Neal

  13. #13
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Salem, New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Dial-up Connection Prompt? (XP Pro)

    Edited by Bigaldoc to add URL code.[/i] See the Quick Guide or 1-Click TagPanel. Please note, I changed your second link since the URL you posted seems to be for a "redirection" site.

    Neal,
    Sorry we missed all the bad guys.Try Spyware Center - Download.com for a copy of Spy Sweeper and Webroot Software - Products: Window Washer for the sister program Window Washer. Spy Sweeper is a lot more agressive than Spybot. It should find the guy's with pitchforks.

  14. #14
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Salem, New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Dial-up Connection Prompt? (XP Pro)

    Neal.
    ,I'm sorry . My last post stepped over the edge with the lounge folks. I will continue to watch your woes and I hope I can help. I do not use Windows or IE for a browser. I have to deal with it 40hrs a week. It puts food on my table. My heart goes out to someone that writes for a living and has problems with their operating system. Maybe Doc can get you tuned up. The difference between the Doc and a true wizard...How do you measure something that you can't define. A+certified and a happy Linux User

  15. #15
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Dial-up Connection Prompt? (XP Pro)

    Hi Neal,

    Is it a standard dialup window ?? What happens when you close it ?? Does it reappear immediately or stay away for awhile and then return when you perform a certain function or does it return at random ?? Can you provide us with a screenshot of this window ??

    I assume the scary program I recommended was HijackThis. The program itself will not harm your system. It's what the operator does with the information provided that will trash the system. If we can't sort this out another way, I may refer you to a special forum for problem infestations. <img src=/S/evilgrin.gif border=0 alt=evilgrin width=15 height=15> But I don't believe it will lead to that. <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •