Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    269
    Thanks
    32
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Windows Media Player

    I am using Windows Media Player 9 to copy licensed music tracks to CDs (I have to use version 9 because there are problems with version 10 and licensed music). I have successfully done this a few times before, but now when I try and copy to CD, the tracks copy as data, not as audio. There must have been a setting change that has taken place since I could last copy music to CDs successfully, but I have no idea what and after hours of trying various setting changes, I can't find anything that will fix the problem.

    I would be very grateful for some advice.

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Windows Media Player

    By "licensed music" do you mean this kind of stuff? If so, I'll have to bow out quickly as I'm not that kind of user. Perhaps you have something on your system from Microsoft that needs to be updated or upgraded.

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    269
    Thanks
    32
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Windows Media Player

    No. By licensed music I mean music purchased legally over the Internet, which is downloaded with a licence to use it. The licence allows unlimited play on the computer it was downloaded to, but limits the number of times it can be copied to a CD or portable music device. I have been copying these tracks to CDs fine before using Windows Media Player's Copy to CD function. Now unfortunately the tracks copy as data, rather than audio and I don't know what setting has changed to cause this behaviour.

  4. #4
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Windows Media Player

    What version of Windows are you running ??
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    269
    Thanks
    32
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Windows Media Player

    XP Pro SP2

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Windows Media Player

    Try using the drag & drop function in Windows Explorer to move the files you want to burn from their folder to your CD-RW drive and then burn them to CD using the "Write these files to CD" function in the left column. You can burn either data CDs or audio CDs this way. HTH
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  7. #7
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    269
    Thanks
    32
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Windows Media Player

    Unfortunately, because the music tracks are licensed, the only way that they can be copied (and the licenses transferred with each track) is by using Windows Media Player version 9. Windows Explorer just copies each track as a wma file, not an audio track. Accordingly the CD will only play on my computer (where the licences are stored).

    I have successfully copied music onto CDs using Windows Media Player many times in the past, but something has changed and I can't find what that is.

  8. #8
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Windows Media Player

    In this instance, unfortunately, you are correct. You have run afoul of the copyright protection scheme used by Microsoft to comply with the Digital Media Initiative. I'll have a look around and see if there is a fix or workaround you can use. Are you certain that you are still using WMP 9 and that it has not been upgraded to WMP 10 ??
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  9. #9
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Windows Media Player

    I just ran 2 wma files (I use MP3 as my format of choice) through the paces of copying them to CD and wonder why you don't get this option in the CD Writing Wizard when you drag and drop the files to the CD-RW drive and try to write the CD. What happens when you get to this step in the wizard ??
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  10. #10
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Windows Media Player

    We had a thread about music from the iTunes store, which is encoded in a proprietary MPEG4 format that WMP doesn't play. The poster was using the workaround of re-ripping all the music from audio CDs back to the computer using WMP. If you still have audio CDs you burned before, that might be one way to recover the files in a format you can use.

    One other thought: I don't know how WMP tracks the "burn count" on your files, but is it possible that you've deleted some kind of hidden information? For example, an anti-spyware scanner might view the information as "tracking" software/cookies/registry entries. If so, perhaps there is some support information available from Microsoft or from the music vendor for what to do in such cases.

  11. #11
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    269
    Thanks
    32
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Windows Media Player

    I am grateful to all of you for your help. The problem is solved. A setting had to be changed from HighMAT to Audio CD and it now works correctly (as it did before).

  12. #12
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Windows Media Player

    Was that HighMAT setting (High-Performance Media Access Technology) on the drive software or on WMP ?? If it was on Media Player, could you tell me where ?? Thanks. <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  13. #13
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    269
    Thanks
    32
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Windows Media Player

    The setting was in WMP. It somehow got changed from Audio CD to HighMAT (yes, High-Performance Media Access Technology, which when you read about it describes exactly what I was trying to achieve, however it just copies as data not audio tracks). It's at the top in the right panel of the Copy to CD or Device tab.

    Thanks again.

  14. #14
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Windows Media Player

    HighMat.com might have some answers.

  15. #15
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Windows Media Player

    Great link Leif !!! <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15> Dummy-proof tutorials too !! <img src=/S/joy.gif border=0 alt=joy width=23 height=23>
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •