Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Sheffield, Yorkshire
    Posts
    951
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Tabular Report (2003)

    I have a report, created from a query, which gives me part numbers, order numbers, quantities, and price. I have groupings set on the part numbers, so they are all together. So say I have 2 orders for part number 1234, the part number appears once, but because of the order quantities are different, the information is on two seperate lines. What I would like is that the two quantites are added together to give me one line for each part number. Would I need to create another query?

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Tabular Report (2003)

    Instead of putting the quantity in the detail section, put a text box with control source =Sum([Quantity]) in the group header or footer for Part Number.

    Alternatively, you could create a Totals query that has Group By for Part Number, and Sum for the Quantity field (and other fields you want to sum), and use this query as record source for the report.

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Sheffield, Yorkshire
    Posts
    951
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Tabular Report (2003)

    A control box for the quantity does add them up, but still puts them above the rest of the detail. Tried a totals query where every field was 'Group By', except 'Quantity', which was sum, and nothing seemed to happen

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Tabular Report (2003)

    If you want to do the adding in the report, you shouldn't use a detail section at all. Put all controls in the group headers or footers.

    A phrase such as "nothing seemed to happen" doesn't give much information.

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Sheffield, Yorkshire
    Posts
    951
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Tabular Report (2003)

    I don't know how to explain it any different. When I ran the query with the Sum in the field, the results where just the same as the select query. The tables come from another database, so I can't attatch anything either. I'll just have to persevere. Thanks.

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Tabular Report (2003)

    Apparently, you are grouping on too many fields, or including too many fields in the query.

  7. #7
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Sheffield, Yorkshire
    Posts
    951
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Tabular Report (2003)

    I'm only grouping on the Part No. What I get in my report is :-

    Part No Description Qty
    1234 Widget 12
    Widget 10

    What I want is:-

    Part No Description Qty
    1234 Widget 22

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Tabular Report (2003)

    Could you post a stripped down copy of your database? See <post#=401925>post 401925</post#> for instructions. Make sure that the database illustrates the problem.

  9. #9
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Sheffield, Yorkshire
    Posts
    951
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Tabular Report (2003)

    I've tried stripping the tables down, but because it is linked to another system, it says 'Deleting data to a linked table is not supported by ISAM"

  10. #10
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Tabular Report (2003)

    You'll have to delete the linked table (in the copy, not in the original database!), then import it and delete records.

  11. #11
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Sheffield, Yorkshire
    Posts
    951
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Tabular Report (2003)

    Done that, still getting the same error message.

  12. #12
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Tabular Report (2003)

    You imported the table(s) and get a message that you can't delete records from a linked table? <img src=/S/scratch.gif border=0 alt=scratch width=25 height=29>

  13. #13
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Sheffield, Yorkshire
    Posts
    951
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Tabular Report (2003)

    Yes. I imported just one table to the copy database, and tried deleting records, and still got the same error

  14. #14
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Tabular Report (2003)

    You could copy a few records into a new table, then delete the linked or imported table and rename the new one.

  15. #15
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Sheffield, Yorkshire
    Posts
    951
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Tabular Report (2003)

    I've deleted all I can, and even zipped it's too big. The report will have to stay as it is.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •