Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 21
  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    28
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Access Runtime Security (2003)

    I have a database with the macro security set to low. I want it that way.
    My users are using Run-time Access to add/edit data... when they open the database file, they are prompted with a series of security questions - "are you sure you want to open this file" type of thing. In the main database, I just lowered the macro security.
    In run-time, it doesn't allow you to see the "tools" option on the toolbar so that I can lower the security. Any ideas how I can make these annoying prompts go away? (I'm also concerned that one of the users might answer yes or no incorrectly while trying to open the database.)
    Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Access Runtime Security (2003)

    The best solution is to digitally sign your database. See the online help (search for signature or certificate), or How to add a digital signature to an Access 2003 run-time application.

    Note: using SelfCert.exe, as mentioned in the help, is only useful for yourself, not for distributing your database to others. You'd need to pay for a third-part certificate, for instance from Verisign or Thwaite.

    An alternative is mentioned in Get Rid of the Security Warning Box : MAC-NET.

  3. #3
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    28
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Security (2003)

    Ok, I tried the suggestions and I really messed things up. For whatever reason, I can't log into my database - at all. It's prompting me for a password that I don't have. Luckily, my users are ok, and can still use the database (using run-time). However, I'm the only one with a full version of access, and I can't get in. Is there some way I can get back in to my database? Please help. <img src=/S/aflame.gif border=0 alt=aflame width=16 height=16>

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Security (2003)

    If you're prompted for a password, someone must have set it.
    I don't understand why someone with the full version of Access shouldn't be able to use the database if runtime users can.
    From your post I get the impression that you didn't make a backup copy of the database. You should ALWAYS make a backup before a major modification...

  5. #5
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    28
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Security (2003)

    I did make a backup, but for whatever reason, even the bkp is prompting me for a password. I don't know what to do. Is there any way I can bypass the password?

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Security (2003)

    Can you get in by leaving the password blank?

  7. #7
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    28
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Security (2003)

    no, tried that

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Security (2003)

    Are you prompted for a password only, or for a username/password combination?

  9. #9
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    28
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Access Runtime Security (2003)

    both

  10. #10
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Access Runtime Security (2003)

    Have you experimented with user-level security? Try the following:
    - Open Access.
    - Select Tools | Security | Workgroup Management...
    - Note the path and name of the workgroup file.
    - Click Create...
    - Specify a name, and other info if you like. Write down the info.
    - Click OK.
    - Accept the file name or specify a new one.
    - Click OK until you're back in Access.
    - You have become a member of the new workgroup information file.
    - Try to open the database now.

  11. #11
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    28
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Access Runtime Security (2003)

    Hans,

    When I wrote last, I couldn't get into the database at all. This morning, I've logged in as a different user on my computer (which is the only one with a full version of Access), and I got into the database. It prompted me for a password, but the password was already there so I just hit "enter", and it opened. So now I'm in. I still don't know why it wouldn't let me log in as "me" on my own computer. But here's the funny thing... I logged in as "me" at another computer that only has "run-time"... and it let me in! In any event, I'm in the database now, logged in as another user, and don't know how to fix things. Is there some way I can remove the password? Get my administrative rights back? Any ideas would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks.

  12. #12
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Access Runtime Security (2003)

    Have you tried my suggestion about creating a new workgroup information file?

  13. #13
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    28
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Access Runtime Security (2003)

    I haven't tried anything yet... to be honest, I'm a little afraid at this point. I really don't want to mess anything else up.

  14. #14
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Access Runtime Security (2003)

    You won't mess anything up by creating a new workgroup information file. If it doesn't work, you can become a member of the original one again, and you'll be back exactly where you are now.

  15. #15
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    28
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Access Runtime Security (2003)

    Hans,

    I tried creating a new workgroup... but it didn't change anything. I'm logged in as someone else. When I try to log in as me, it still won't let me in. Any ideas?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •