Thread: Template Design

3 Star Lounger
    Thanks

Template Design

This is a fairly general question, however, I am trying to work out the pros and cons of the different ways of developing template sets.

Currently I have a master template that sits in the Startup folder and contains all the code that is used to populate the files created from the Workgroup templates. The workgroup templates are layout templates only and don

Super Moderator
    Thanks

Re: Template Design

Karen,

We've recently moved to a somewhat similar setup, where global code sits in a global template in the startup directory, and code specific to individual templates sits in the individual templates. In each of the individual templates, we set a reference to the global template. This seems to be working fine, and developing with it is not really harder once you get used to a few working practices:

The directory structure in your development environment should parallel the directory structure in your live environment - that is, global template in the startup directory, and workgroup templates in the assigned workgroup directory. This is one way to help ensure that the conditions you're developing in are going to be the same as the conditions the templates are run in.

This doesn't mean you're stuck with only one directory structure in your development environment; for instance, since we still support both Word 97 and Word 2000, I've got two different development directory structures, and I swap the settings in Tools>Options>FileLocations to either the 97 or 2000 locations as needed (this switching can also be effected via a macro, but you'll need to store this in your Normal.dot so that you can run it from either environment).