Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    New Network (XP Pro)

    In my Network Connections, I'm showing my home network (HomeNet) and some other 'network (NETGEAR).

    I see this when I look at the Network Connections on my wireless (MN-730) that's attached to our home baser station (MN-700 router).

    Where'd this second one come from, and can I ditch it?

    Regards,
    Chuck Billow
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  2. #2
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: New Network (XP Pro)

    It will be someone else's wireless network sufficiently local to you that you are picking up. You may even be able to tell what make the router is (!), and that it may be using default settings and thus may not be secure! There are devices to determine the direction of the signal, so you can go and "have a word" with the perpetrator...

    John
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  3. #3
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: New Network (XP Pro)

    John:

    Well, obviously they can link in... But do they have access? Also, it's only showing up (apparently) as "available", so I'm not seeing any option to block it etc...

    Is the same going to be true from their end? Maybe I can find a way to single it out in ZoneAlarm, and block it there.....

    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  4. #4
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: New Network (XP Pro)

    I have no idea if "they" can link in to your network. It depends what security you have set up on it. Some Googling on hardening wireless network and the like might bring out webpages and books on the subject. Also I think there have been threads in the Lounge on this sort of topic, too.

    <img src=/S/scold.gif border=0 alt=scold width=50 height=15> But surely you should have looked into wireless network security before getting the hardware?!

    John
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  5. #5
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: New Network (XP Pro)

    I have 5 in my area, 3 are secure and 2 are not. If I want to use my laptop with the NIC-Cat5, I have to disable the wireless, because the laptop will connect to the strongest signal that is open. At times I don't mind using some one else's connection, but when I do, I can not get to my network and to the shares on the other machines.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: New Network (XP Pro)

    John:

    >>But surely you should have looked into wireless network security before getting the hardware?!<<

    Now be nice John...

    There was a certain amount of trust in what I had read -- that the MN-700 was good, and that it had a built in firewall... And I already was using ZoneAlarm... But security issues tend to leave me often baffled...

    I apologize for the ineptitude...

    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  7. #7
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: New Network (XP Pro)

    Dave:


    >>because the laptop will connect to the strongest signal that is open<<

    If that's so, could that also be the cause of the (sometimes) intermittent signal breakups? 'Cause if I'm seeing that signal, then ....

    But it's not showing up in ZoneAlarm's program listing anywhere that I see... Does that mean that even though "I" see it, it in fact isn't trying to get in, nor am I trying to connect to it?

    ??

    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: New Network (XP Pro)

    ....and Stuart did give you a good tutorial in this thread so you shouldn't really have much to worry about.

  9. #9
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: New Network (XP Pro)

    Leif:

    Yea, that should do it, you're right...

    Thanks,
    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •