Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 24
  1. #1
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: I.E. Doesn't Connect Right Away (6.0 SP1)

    Sounds like you may have selected the equivalent of
    File > Work Offline

  2. #2
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Alzano Lombardo, Italy
    Posts
    1,483
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: I.E. Doesn't Connect Right Away (6.0 SP1)

    Hi Leif <img src=/S/hello.gif border=0 alt=hello width=25 height=29>, nice to talk to you again.
    If I click on the Close button of the Dialog box I can see that the Not On Line option of the File menu of I.E. is selected. I've tried deselecting it and reboot but the pesky dialog box keeps on popping up. Any other lead?

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: I.E. Doesn't Connect Right Away (6.0 SP1)

    Perhaps your internet connection is disconnected. What kind of connection do you have?

    Is this a recent problem?

    What happens if you hit F5 (refresh)?

    Are you opening up the same page (i.e. homepage) each time, or are you following links?

  4. #4
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Alzano Lombardo, Italy
    Posts
    1,483
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: I.E. Doesn't Connect Right Away (6.0 SP1)

    I have dsl. The problem arose a week ago. I cannot hit refresh because I have to first click on the "Try again" button you see in the picture and, when I click on it, the connection is established but the problem arises again on the next reboot which always opens the homepage: msn.co.uk

  5. #5
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Vienna, Wien, Austria
    Posts
    5,009
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: I.E. Doesn't Connect Right Away (6.0 SP1)

    >but the problem arises again on the next reboot

    Are you actually saying that this happens only once per session? That is, you can click on Try Again (as described above) and then connect to MSN UK. If you then close IE and reopen it (without rebooting), are you saying that it connects right away?
    Gre

  6. #6
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Alzano Lombardo, Italy
    Posts
    1,483
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: I.E. Doesn't Connect Right Away (6.0 SP1)

    Yes

  7. #7
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Vienna, Wien, Austria
    Posts
    5,009
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: I.E. Doesn't Connect Right Away (6.0 SP1)

    It sounds as if there may be a delay in the ISP's registering that you are (trying to go) online. Personally, I tend to check my e-mail first before browsing. What happens if you try to check your e-mail first (before opening IE)?
    Gre

  8. #8
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Alzano Lombardo, Italy
    Posts
    1,483
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: I.E. Doesn't Connect Right Away (6.0 SP1)

    Thank you, I have both shortcuts to I.E. and Outlook in my Startup folder, is there a way to make Outlook start before I.E.?

  9. #9
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Vienna, Wien, Austria
    Posts
    5,009
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: I.E. Doesn't Connect Right Away (6.0 SP1)

    This looks like becoming an Operating System problem - rather than an application problem. The problem seems to be that IE is being loaded before your Operating System has fully booted up. Are you running Windows XP? If you try taking IE out of your Start-up folder and launching it manually, does the problem go away?
    Gre

  10. #10
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Alzano Lombardo, Italy
    Posts
    1,483
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: I.E. Doesn't Connect Right Away (6.0 SP1)

    Thank you so much, your suggestions made me try and use another shortcut to I.E.(see attachment) instead of the one I was using, which is the one in the IE folder attached. Now the connection works right from the start.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  11. #11
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Vienna, Wien, Austria
    Posts
    5,009
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: I.E. Doesn't Connect Right Away (6.0 SP1)

    Understood. Glad we got there. <img src=/S/thumbup.gif border=0 alt=thumbup width=15 height=15>
    Gre

  12. #12
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Vienna, Wien, Austria
    Posts
    5,009
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: I.E. Doesn't Connect Right Away (6.0 SP1)

    Three ideas occur to me:<UL><LI>Your ISP has changed the way in which your DSL access interacts with their IP address allocation. You could test this by changing IE's home page to the ISP's own home page - or possibly to MSN IT. <LI>You loaded some kind of new software - possibly an update to some anti-spyware software - that has started delaying IE's initial access to the internet<LI>The problem has arisen as a "knock-on" effect from the latest bunch of Windows Update patches. Are you simply delaying installing WinXP SP2 - or are you delaying installing most Windows Update patches?[/list]
    Gre

  13. #13
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Alzano Lombardo, Italy
    Posts
    1,483
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: I.E. Doesn't Connect Right Away (6.0 SP1)

    I'm afraid I have to take it back <img src=/S/dizzy.gif border=0 alt=dizzy width=15 height=15>. Changing the type of shortcut was working yesterday evening but this morning is back to its old self throwing that dialog box at me again and yes, I am running Windows XP pro sp1 and if I try taking IE out of the Start-up folder and launching it manually the problem does go away.
    <img src=/S/confused.gif border=0 alt=confused width=15 height=20>

  14. #14
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Alzano Lombardo, Italy
    Posts
    1,483
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    I.E. Doesn't Connect Right Away (6.0 SP1)

    Upon opening, Internet Explorer on my pc(Windows XP pro, sp1) has been showing the following message for a week now:
    <font color=448800>No connection to the internet is currently available. To view internet content that has been saved on your computer, click work offline.
    Click Try again to attempt to connect.</font color=448800>
    If I proceed to click on Try Again the connection is then established.
    Is there any way to fix it?
    Attached Images Attached Images

  15. #15
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Alzano Lombardo, Italy
    Posts
    1,483
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: I.E. Doesn't Connect Right Away (6.0 SP1)

    I've changed IE's home page to my ISP's own home page http://www.virgilio.it/home/index.html and so far so good; better wait for tomorrow morning for a definite answer after the pc has had a good night's sleep to settle its vagaries. <img src=/S/overclocking.gif border=0 alt=overclocking width=99 height=47>
    You said, "that has started delaying IE's initial access to the internet". Isn't that counter to what you say here?
    And yes, I am indeed simply delaying installing WinXP SP2 while Windows Update patches get installed.

    Thank you

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •