Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: UP Pro and Acronis (XP-Pro)

    What did you have for lunch ??? <img src=/S/laugh.gif border=0 alt=laugh width=15 height=15> Seriously, could you be a bit more clear about the problem. I use Acronis and I don't recall being asked to assign a letter to any partitions for Acronis. They all have letters assigned already and Acronis uses them. Isn't your primary partition labled the C partition ?? Can you provide a screenshot of the window that asks the question ??
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: UP Pro and Acronis (XP-Pro)

    Just out of curiosity, what is UP Pro? You are running in Windows aren't you? This screenshot is about the second step in the process, where you select what partitions to backup. As you can see, my lone NTFS partition has a letter assigned in Windows. Note that I have de-selected my swap file partition to exclude it from backup. Following this, one would normally select a destination for the backup and that device/file would also have a letter, assigned already by Windows. Whassup there mate?

  3. #3
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: UP Pro and Acronis (XP-Pro)

    'Pologies guys... Damn spellcheckers... XP-Pro...

    Here's the page from the True Image "manual"... They say that 98,ME etc. assign letters automatically, by that NT,K, and UP
    don't...And since the trial won't let you restore....

    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  4. #4
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: UP Pro and Acronis (XP-Pro)

    So you've got the Acronis manual in front of you and you are asking us to make it more clear ??? <img src=/S/confused3.gif border=0 alt=confused3 width=45 height=45>

    If the trial version won't let you restore, then what is it you are trying to do / want to know ?? Are you attempting to figure out how you would restore a single partition from many ?? Assuming that your software had the capability to perform that operation, of course. <img src=/S/shrug.gif border=0 alt=shrug width=39 height=15>
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  5. #5
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: UP Pro and Acronis (XP-Pro)

    Doc:

    I had originally thought I doing a "typical" review for possible purchase... But when I came across that stuff, I wasn't sure I was reading It right...

    I haven't to date, ever had to address assigning letters at restore time from any other software -- Pick a destination / partition, yes, but not assign letters...

    So I suppose I'm unclear if this is a "hidden" XP/2000 issue that most software attends to in the background, or if I'm missing something -- that in fact they're talking about re-assigning, or changing the letters...

    Also, this reminds me that NTFS partitions are invisible to DOS, and cause (how well I know) often confusing letter re-assignments and changes...
    And I surely don't want to go down that road again...

    So I need first to figger how much of this may be Acronis foibles, or that it might just in fact be an NTFS issue...

    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: UP Pro and Acronis (XP-Pro)

    Chuck,

    If you start picking things apart and analyzing them individually, out of context they won't make sense. I just went to the User Manual for True Image v7.0 and found the section that you posted. If you will go back to the begining of the section on restoring a disk or partition (section 5) and reread the section entitled "Selecting a location to restore to" it states "As a rule you should restore an image to the same partition from which that image was created." So unless yopu are doing something like restoring a partition from one computer to the hard drive of another computer or a different location on the same computer this doesn't come into play and the software defaults to the original location / drive letter of the partition (as the manual indicates they are working with the H partition and the default is H in your posted screenshot).

    The software is first rate and will do all that it says it will do. To micro-analyze it in an attempt to find it's flaws is silly. The software has been written, tested and retested by folks a whole lot smarter than you or I and found to be fit for it's intended purpose. The step-by-step instructions in the manual couldn't be simpler for a product that does something so complex so well. I've used it to restore an entire hard drive image to a new drive and restored a corrupt C partition (the profiles became corrupt) on the old drive. Both functions were performed from the same image, stored on an external hard drive with a USB2 connection, by simply following the prompts after reading through the manual to familiarize myself with the process. It's really not that difficult and from the people I've spoken with who have had occasion to contact them, the support from Acronis is top shelf as well.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  7. #7
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: UP Pro and Acronis (XP-Pro)

    Doc:

    You right...

    I guess I am gun shy after using some products that didn't really work (easily), and others that would only back up to an external device or CD, and NOT create an image for a bootable drive that could be stored or saved on another (internal) hard drive...

    Circles make me dizzy I guess...

    Thanks,
    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  8. #8
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    XP Pro and Acronis (XP-Pro)

    This may seem totally out to lunch, but...

    If I'm using Acronis to back up an NTFS partition, it says in the instructions that one of the steps is assigning a letter to the partition... Or else it'll not be seen by the OS...

    So if I'm backing up my primary partition,"C" -- an NTFS "C" that is' do I (need) to assign a letter at time of backup / restore?

    Regards,
    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  9. #9
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: UP Pro and Acronis (XP-Pro)

    Chuck,
    The only time TI asks you to assign a drive letter is when you are creating an image of a drive from a previously created image in order to SELECTIVELY restore a few files and not the entire HD.
    You select the drive letter that you want to restore some files FROM and then it asks you to give the Temporary image a drive letter. like R or something. It will create an image of that drive and you will see it in WIndows Explorer as drive R. Then you can pick some files or folders and copy and move or whatever. The same things you can do within WE with any files, you can do with the TEMPORARY drive R.
    When you are done you can unmount the drive R or if you reboot it will be gone.

    If you are restoring the entire drive it will be the same drive letter it had before. Such as restoring drive C, use Drive letter C.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  10. #10
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: UP Pro and Acronis (XP-Pro)

    Bob:

    So it's just used as a virtual drive "for extraction"..?

    If so, that makes sense...

    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  11. #11
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: UP Pro and Acronis (XP-Pro)

    Yes, When it's used in that manner. Quick and easy.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  12. #12
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: UP Pro and Acronis (XP-Pro)

    Bob:

    Ok...th.anks..

    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •