Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Niagara Falls, New York, USA
    Posts
    1,878
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Report Formatted for Property? (a2k (9.0.6926) SP-3 Jet 4.0 SP-8)

    I developed a Report on computer with Okidata ML 590 on LPT3

    When printing the report at customer site I get the following message:

    Microsoft Access
    This document was previously formatted for the printer Okidata ML 590 on LPT3; but that printer isn

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Report Formatted for Property? (a2k (9.0.6926) SP-3 Jet 4.0 SP-8)

    Why don't you set the report to print to the default printer?

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Niagara Falls, New York, USA
    Posts
    1,878
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Report Formatted for Property? (a2k (9.0.6926) SP-3 Jet 4.0 SP-8)

    It was set to Default Printer, however to get the rid of the message, I had to go to File, Page Setup, Page, OK one time to get rid of the message.

    Is there a way in VBA code to do what I had to do above manually?

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Report Formatted for Property? (a2k (9.0.6926) SP-3 Jet 4.0 SP-8)

    If the report was set to print to the default printer, you shouldn't get that message. If the report has been set to print to a specific printer, you'll get a message if it is opened on a PC where that printer is not available.

  5. #5
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Niagara Falls, New York, USA
    Posts
    1,878
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Report Formatted for Property? (a2k (9.0.6926) SP-3 Jet 4.0 SP-8)

    It was set to Default Printer, however to get the rid of the message, I had print in preview, get the message, select Page Setup, Page, OK one time to get rid of the message.

    Is there a way in VBA code to do what I had to do above manually?

    Thanks, John

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Report Formatted for Property? (a2k (9.0.6926) SP-3 Jet 4.0 SP-8)

    This thread seems to be in repeat mode. I don't know why you had to do that, and I don't know if it can be done in VBA.

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Report Formatted for Property? (a2k (9.0.6926) SP-3 Jet 4.0 SP-8)

    I take it the 590 was the default printer on *your* machine and the 520 is the default printer on the client machine, right? Was the report saved on either machine with the page setup set to Default Printer, rather than a specific printer name? If not, you will get the message on a machine without that particular printer.
    Charlotte

  8. #8
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Niagara Falls, New York, USA
    Posts
    1,878
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Report Formatted for Property? (a2k (9.0.6926) SP-3 Jet 4.0 SP-8)

    Right on!

    If printer settings are stored in a report's design, how can developers ever design databases for customers?

    I don

  9. #9
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Report Formatted for Property? (a2k (9.0.6926) SP-3 Jet 4.0 SP-8)

    That is exactly the reason to use Default Printer rather than a specific printer when designing the report. All you need do is this:
    Charlotte

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •