Results 1 to 7 of 7
  • Thread Tools
  1. 4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Sayre, Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    504
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Combo Box-Not able to make selections (2000)

    Hi,
    What would cause a combo box to only allow the first item in the list to be selected. The combo box is on an unbound form. The form has 2 combo boxes. The first one is updating ok, it let's me make multiple selections from it's list and it is based on a query. The 2nd combo box is also based on a query with criteria that makes it only show a list of items based on the first combo box ([Forms]![frmSearchForm]![cboSearchFormDPLLookup]). When I try to make a selection it doesn't matter what I click on it only gives me the first item in the list. I've done this several times before but with bound forms and I can't figure out what I'm doing wrong.
    Thanks,
    Deb

  2. Subscribe to our Windows Secrets Newsletter - It's Free!

    Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 13 Times in 13 Posts

    Re: Combo Box-Not able to make selections (2000)

    Is the Locked property of the combo box set to Yes?

  4. 4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Sayre, Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    504
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Combo Box-Not able to make selections (2000)

    Hi Hans,
    It's set to No, and when I click on the drop down menu, it says calculating in the lower left corner.
    Thanks,
    Deb

  5. Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 13 Times in 13 Posts

    Re: Combo Box-Not able to make selections (2000)

    I dn't think we can help without seeing the database.

  6. 4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Sayre, Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    504
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Combo Box-Not able to make selections (2000)

    Hans,
    I've attached a scaled version. It's the only form - frmSearchForm.
    Thanks,
    Deb

  7. Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 13 Times in 13 Posts

    Re: Combo Box-Not able to make selections (2000)

    You have made lngMachineID the bound column of the second combo box, but this is the same for ALL items, namely the lngMachineID selected in the first combo box. You must make lngPartID the first column in the row source of the second combo box:

    SELECT qrySearchFormPartsLookup.lngPartsID, qrySearchFormPartsLookup.txtPartNomen, qrySearchFormPartsLookup.txtTechManPartNo, qrySearchFormPartsLookup.intQty, qrySearchFormPartsLookup.lngMachineID FROM qrySearchFormPartsLookup WHERE (((qrySearchFormPartsLookup.lngMachineID)=Forms!fr mSearchForm!cboSearchFormDPLLookup));

  8. 4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Sayre, Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    504
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Combo Box-Not able to make selections (2000)

    Thanks Hans,
    That did it. Lost a few hairs on that one.
    <img src=/S/cheers.gif border=0 alt=cheers width=30 height=16>
    Thanks,
    Deb

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •