Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    1,119
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Underline spaces??

    I know this is easy - I want to put blank lines in a form so someone can type on them. Does someone know how to do this?

  2. #2
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    261
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Underline spaces??

    Whenever I build a form, I find that tables provide me with the best control. They have the added advantage of easily enabling electronic form completion.

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    1,119
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Underline spaces??

    Yes I know but I am looking at a form that uses underlines and it seems like blank spaces are underlined and I can't seem to replicate this. I can turn underline on and it will underline characters but not blanks. There must be some option that underlines spaces.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    2,970
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 29 Times in 27 Posts

    Re: Underline spaces??

    This is done by building a protected form (which as Jezsik said, is often best based on a table layout) - which is really easy to do.

    To get started on building a protected form, go to View>Toolbars, and make the Forms toolbar visible - this makes available the different form elements (such as text form fields) that you can insert in your form. The last piece of the puzzle is to protect the form.

    There's copious information on building a form available in Word Help - just look for the topic "Create a Form".

    Gary

  5. #5
    Silver Lounger Charles Kenyon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Sun Prairie, Wisconsin, Wisconsin, USA
    Posts
    2,049
    Thanks
    124
    Thanked 119 Times in 116 Posts

    Re: Underline spaces??

    Hi Linda,

    You can set tab stops where you want your line to end and underline the tab character. This is a quick-and-dirty way to accomplish what you want.

    Hard spaces will allow underlining. Ctrl-Shift-Spacebar. I don't recommend using a bunch of spaces, though, tabs give you much more control.

    Hope this helps,
    Charles Kyle Kenyon
    Madison, Wisconsin

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    1,119
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Underline spaces??

    Thanks - ctrl shift spacebar is what I needed to know. I thought it was something simple. Thanks a bunch.

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    West Long Branch, New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    1,921
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 9 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: Underline spaces??

    Linda,

    I saw your 2 posts and am a little confused by what you're looking to do. In general, I'd agree with Jezsik about using a table for a form (using only a bottom border for the cell) to allow people to type on top of the line.

    However, here are 3 more things that might be considered (sounds like you're looking at something that someone else did and trying to figure out what it was):
    1. the para could have a border applied to it. This is NOT the same as a table. To do this, select the para (even if blank), click on Format | Borders and Shading and the Borders tab. This allows one to add a border the width of the line indents and type on top of it. Spaces are underlined (actually the whole line is underlined before you even type so it doesn't matter what you type). This is a quick way of getting a line to type on (possibly better than the hard spaces).

    2. Charles' idea about using tabs and underlining them to create an "underlined space" seems quick and dirty, as he said. Something slightly quicker but just as dirty is to when you're setting your tab stops for the spaces, to use underline leaders. In the Format | Tab dialog, you can set your stops. Note there is a part of the dialog for leaders and a choice for a solid underline. A leader is what's inserted after the last char before the tab to before the first char after the tab to take up the space. But you can't type on top of the leader so not sure if this is what you want.

    3. It is possible to define underlining such that only words are underlined. This can be done by Format | Font. There is a section of the dialog for underlining and one of the choices on the drop down is for Words Only (but this is NOT the default-continuous underlining is). It is possible to have defined a font/para style with this type of underlining and you'd get what you're seeing. Note I put this last since I think it most unlikely that anyone would do this. But something to look into if all else fails.

    Hope something helps.

    Fred

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •