Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Virginia, USA, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    110
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    change default line weight (Word 2003 SP1)

    The default line weight in the Word 2003 Tables & Borders toolbar is 1/2 point.

    Is there anywhere I can change the default to 3/4 point and have it remain 3/4 point?

    TIA,
    gg

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: change default line weight (Word 2003 SP1)

    No, that is not possible. You can file a request with Microsoft: How to Contact the Microsoft Wish Program, but don't hold your breath.

  3. #3
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    A Magic Forest in Deepest, Darkest Kent
    Posts
    5,681
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: change default line weight (Word 2003 SP1)

    Georgette

    I am aware this is not quite what you are looking for I have written this:

    Sub TableLineChange()

    For Each aTable In ActiveDocument.Tables
    aTable.Select
    Selection.ParagraphFormat.LineSpacing = LinesToPoints(0.75)

    Next aTable


    End Sub

    Does this help while you wait for the wish list from Microsoft
    Jerry

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: change default line weight (Word 2003 SP1)

    Jerry,

    Line spacing is the distance between lines in a paragraph. With 6 lines per inch, it would be 12 (points). A line spacing of 0.75 points is VERY small!
    Line weight is the thickness of a line.

  5. #5
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    A Magic Forest in Deepest, Darkest Kent
    Posts
    5,681
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: change default line weight (Word 2003 SP1)

    Georgette

    Please ignore my last. I didn't read your question correctly and made a few wrong assumptions. I was assuming line height of the text not the line weight of the actual table, sorry.
    Jerry

  6. #6
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    A Magic Forest in Deepest, Darkest Kent
    Posts
    5,681
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: change default line weight (Word 2003 SP1)

    Thanks Hans

    A case of <img src=/S/rtfm.gif border=0 alt=rtfm width=24 height=23>
    Jerry

  7. #7
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    3,852
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 259 Times in 239 Posts

    Re: change default line weight (Word 2003 SP1)

    <P ID="edit" class=small>(Edited by Andrew Lockton on 05-May-05 09:53. Further playing and re-reading the original post suggested another solution.)</P>My version of Word 2003 shows the default line thickness according to the current table selected when I go to the dialog. For example, if my cursor is in a table with 4pt lines then the weight that appears in the Format Borders dialog is 4pt.

    Now what you can do is modify the default table style. If you are using table styles (and you should <img src=/S/evilgrin.gif border=0 alt=evilgrin width=15 height=15>) then all you have to do is show the preferred table style (with 3/4 borders) in the task pane and then right click it and choose 'Set as Default Table Style'. You will be presented with a dialog that asks if you want to apply this only to this document or to all documents created with the attached template. Once this is done, you should be able to create new tables and find that the default line thicknesses appear as 3/4 points.
    -----------------
    I just re-read your post and realised that you were talking about the Tables and Borders toolbar rather than the Format > Borders and Shading dialog. The line weight and colour (in both places) is sticky so that whatever you have chosen to apply will remain as the default until you change it (or restart Word). Therefore it should be simple enough to run an auto-macro (in Normal perhaps) that sets your preference for borders.
    Andrew Lockton, Chrysalis Design, Melbourne Australia

  8. #8
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Virginia, USA, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    110
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: change default line weight (Word 2003 SP1)

    I am trying to make my Word choices on the Tables & Borders toolbar compliant with our company's automatic table-generating macro (MACRO = if you choose a table without any merged cells and run the macro it sets the line thickness to 3/4 pt. [except for the line under the header which is 1.5 pt] and sets styles for the text <table caption with auto numbering, column headers, table text, table notes/sources>).

    The problem arises when I have to tinker with adding additional rows, columns, etc. after the fact. If I don't remember to change my Word "default" line thickness on the Table & Borders toolbar from 1/2 pt. to 3/4 pt. I have a table with slightly different line widths. So I am looking for a way to set the thickness to 3/4 pt. as the default all the time on my Tables and Borders toolbar... even when I exit and enter the Word program multiple times during the day.

    Will running an automacro to set border preferences do this? If so, how do I make that happen... how do I create the macro and how do I make it work everytime I open Word? Note: I have a global template called gg-normal.dot that loads evertime I open Word. I would prefer to house this "fix" there in case my normal.dot corrupts!

    Thanks in advance,
    Georgette

  9. #9
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: change default line weight (Word 2003 SP1)

    If you don't have one yet, create a macro named AutoExec in a standard module in your global template.
    Put the code to set the line weight in this macro, it is just a single line:

    Options.DefaultBorderLineWidth = wdLineWidth075pt

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •