Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Bronze Lounger IanWilson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Bristol, United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,523
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Don't want modem to plug and play (Pro SP2)

    At work we have an XP PC that we use to connect to the internet, separate from our networked workstations, using dial-up. Used to be fine (-ish) with our old NT4 machine. With new XP machine, still using same old external modem (skin-flint employer! <img src=/S/sad.gif border=0 alt=sad width=15 height=15> ). Windows wants to plug and play, and installs a driver which renders the internet almost unusable, with very slow speeds, dropped connections etc. I get on much better uninstalling the driver that Windows came up with and installing the modem instead as a generic 56K modem. It then works reasonably well. On a restart, though, Windows does plug and play again and installs a driver. Even though I am still using the generic driver, the very fact that the other one is installed too seems to degrade the performance. If I remove it and install a different borrowed modem, that works quite well. (In fact the borrowed modem, perhaps an even older model, is detected by Windows but it doesn't have a suggested driver for it so I can just install a generic one and that is fine.)

    What I would like to be able to do is use the original modem with a generic driver and stop windows trying to install another one on a restart. Is that possible? (I have looked for an updated XP driver for the modem on line and can't find one - manufacturer went bust and got taken over, I think.)

    Ian

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Don't want modem to plug and play (Pro SP2)

    Ian,

    This is just a theory, but if you go into Driver Details (right click My Computer, choose Properties, click on Device Manager, select Modems, right click the modem in question and choose Properties, click on the Drivers tab, click on Driver Details) you can find the location of the offending driver and delete it using Windows Explorer (you can't delete it from this location, only find out where it's located). Windows should then be left with the generic driver as it's default and select that one.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  3. #3
    Bronze Lounger IanWilson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Bristol, United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,523
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Don't want modem to plug and play (Pro SP2)

    But won't it still want to plug and play next time the PC is restarted the only difference now being that it won't be able to find a driver?

    Ian

  4. #4
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Don't want modem to plug and play (Pro SP2)

    Ian,
    You should be able to go into your BIOS to disable PnP. Most have that option.
    So set up the driver that you wish, Reboot and go into BIOS first and disable PnP, then let it continue the boot process.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  5. #5
    Bronze Lounger IanWilson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Bristol, United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,523
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Don't want modem to plug and play (Pro SP2)

    It would be nice if plug and play still worked for other devices. I'd just like to nobble it for the modem.

    Ian

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Don't want modem to plug and play (Pro SP2)

    If you first copy the generic driver to the folder you deleted the troublesome driver from and when the Plug and Play process comes up during restart and asks for the driver, you can provide the drive/directory where you stored the driver, and let the Plug and Play function of Windows to do the rest. I suspect that it will then use that driver each time.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  7. #7
    Bronze Lounger IanWilson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Bristol, United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,523
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Don't want modem to plug and play (Pro SP2)

    OK - when I get back to work on Monday, I'll give that a go. Thanks.

    Ian

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •