New Lounger
    Thanks

Value Transfer (Access 97)

Help, I am relatively new in application setup in Access so would like to stay with macro driven commands if possible.
    I have a list box on a form that lists 4 options which when picked, populate a Product Field. Based on the selection, I want a drop-down (combo box) list to come up with only the selections for that selected option. The drop down box has symptom codes associated with each product type. I have set up a filter query but the whole thing just doesn't seem to work right.

What I want is the filter query to read the product parameter from the list box selection. Give me only the values that pertain to that selection and then, (and this is where I'm failing miserably) - when the user chooses the symptom selection from the drop-down - the filter should be removed for the next record entry. What is happening is that I seem to be able to get the filter to work according to the Product selection but the next record doesn't have the filter cleared and if I put another Product selection in, the wrong drop down list appears, i.e. - it doesn't clear from the previous record. Or, if someone wants to change the Product selection on the same record, they need to get the new drop-down list based on that Product.

Can somebody help with a macro dialog. It just doesn't seem that hard, but I have been struggling with it.
    Thanks!
    Christy

Plutonium Lounger
    Thanks

Re: Value Transfer (Access 97)

Can you tell us how you filter the combo box (drip down list) now?

New Lounger
    Thanks

Yes, I have the filter saved as a query with the Code, Family and Reason for Call fields included.

Under the Family field criteria (which Family = Product) - I have [Forms]!<troubleshootFm1>![Product] which on the first record I do works perfect. It only brings in the the Product Codes corresponding to the correct entry in the Product Field.

Does that help - would a repaint of the field help?
    Christy