Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Modem Speed

  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    541
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Modem Speed

    I have a Toshiba laptop and the modem always connects at 33.6Kbps. My desktop PC in the same house usually connects in the 40-45Kbps range. Is ther any way to increase the connection speed on the laptop?

  2. #2
    Bronze Lounger IanWilson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Bristol, United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,523
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Modem Speed

    You don't say what version of Windows you are using, but have you tried checking the maximum speed for the port the modem is using? I'm on Windows XP with an internal modem (which I don't actually use, as I'm using brodaband). In control panel, find phone and modem options (I think in earlier versions of Windows there was a modems icon). On the modems tab click properties, and see what it says. Mine says it's on port COM3. There is then a tab labelled modem and on that there is a drop down list for the maximum port speed. Mine is set to 115200 (and so is the one on my wife's Toshiba laptop). If yours is set to less than the maximum value, try changing it.

    Ian

  3. #3
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Modem Speed

    Are both modems 56k types? Not a 33k and a 56k type?
    Just a thought.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  4. #4
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    541
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Modem Speed

    The laptop, which has the slow modem, is running Windows XP. The desktop PCs are running 98SE. All are using a 56K modem and the modem speed is set in each case to 115200.

  5. #5
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    541
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Modem Speed

    Yes, both are 56K.

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Modem Speed

    It might be as simple as system resources. XP has a much higher overhead that does 98SE. Even if the laptop has more resources (larger CPU and more RAM) it requires more of them just to run the OS. A 98SE box can often out perform an XP box if it doesn't have sufficient resources. If XP is running with 256MB of RAM or less, this could be the problem.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  7. #7
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,588
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: Modem Speed

    I don't disagree with Doc about how XP can consume resources. But slow dialup connection speed is generally not a resource consideration as much as a configuration problem. Take a look at this Google Search: optimize dialup for tools and suggestions.

    Joe
    Joe

  8. #8
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Modem Speed

    You're correct Joe. I misread the original post. If the modem is connecting at a slower speed then the problem is with the dialup connection and how it is made. My reference was to how efficiently a system uses what it is getting from the modem. Apples and oranges.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  9. #9
    WS Lounge VIP rory's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Burwash, East Sussex, United Kingdom
    Posts
    6,280
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 191 Times in 177 Posts

    Re: Modem Speed

    Hi,
    What ISP do you use and are both modems dialling the same access number? Also, how are you actually determining connection speed?
    Regards,
    Rory

    Microsoft MVP - Excel

  10. #10
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    541
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Modem Speed

    My ISP is Compass Communications in New Zealand and yes, both modems use the same number. I get the connection speed by double-clicking the connection icon in the system tray.

  11. #11
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Modem Speed

    Take a look at this page to see if you get any ideas from the information about X2, K56Flex and V.90 modems and how they differ. HTH
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •