4 Star Lounger
    Thanks

Need Help With Complex Import

I am a college professor and I am looking for some help in getting a large quantity of data from a testbank program called MicroTest into Access. I have checked with the company that sells MicroTest and the question database is in a proprietary format and they offer no help in exporting it to other programs.

The only type of export they offer is to an ASCII file. I have some ideas on how to get from ASCII to Access but the there are complications I need help with.

There are three types of questions in the database: true/false (TF), multiple choice (MC), and essay or free form (FF). True/false presents the fewest problems so let's look at it first.

Each question exports to two lines, similar to the following:

TF Sc None C 1 Q 1 A F
    Production and operations management concepts and techniques are limited to manufacturing organizations.

The "" is a code that says a new question is starting.

The "TF" is the question type and that will go into a field as-is.

The "Sc None" says not the scramble any of the answers. That is meaningless in a true false question.

The "C 1" says this question came from Chapter 1. The "1" needs to go into a numeric field.

The "Q 1" says this is question one and will be dropped.

The "A F" says the answer is False and the F needs to go into a field.

The question then follows. It does not have returns in it UNLESS the question is more than one paragraph long, which is possible. This presents me with my first problem. When a question has more than one paragraph, Access treats those extra returns as field dividers even through I do not want it to.