Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    BSD while loading XP Home (XP Home )

    I am very frustrated with my new machine. I get a BSD every time I attempt to load WIN XP Home. The system boots from the CD, starts windows, checks the hard drives and crashes to a BSD. The BSD just references an address.

    The System contains:
    ABIT An8 MOBO
    AMD 3500+ Winchester
    Sapphire x700Pro PCI-E video
    Corsair 2x512 MB ram 3200
    Maxtor SATA (80 and 120GB)
    DVD and CD/RW
    Enermax power supply

    What I have tried:
    I tried different RAM - OCZ 3200 - same BSD
    I tried different HD - MAXTOR IDE - same BSD
    I tried different Power Supply - generic 350W - same BSD
    I tried BIOS "fail- safe" defaults - same BSD

    When I first assembled the system, I booted it on a disk with windows already loaded from the last system that met an unfortunate end (water cooling leak caused an overheat). It found new hardware and did its thing and worked great for a week. Then one day while booting up, a windows system file got scrambled and refused to boot. It said I needed to run the recovery console from the windows disk. I decided to reload from scratch and have had nothing but BSDs since.

    I have requested an RMA for the MOBO just to try something else.

    Is there a way to get more info from the address on the BSD?

    Would XP Pro help?

    Should I load XP on the disk on another machine and let it find the new hardware again?

    Help?

    Liftoff

  2. #2
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: BSD while loading XP Home (XP Home )

    The information on the first two lines of the BSoD usually gives clues about why it has taken place. Could you post this, please?

    John
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: BSD while loading XP Home (XP Home )

    The BSD says "A problem has been detected and windows has been shutdown to prevent damage to your computer"
    Real helpful, huh...

    At the bottom it says Technical information:

    Stop: 0x0000008E (0xC0000006, 0x80855184, 0xF73B7A14, 0x0000000)

  4. #4
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: BSD while loading XP Home (XP Home )

    About the only relevant thing that I have found on TechNet is <!mskb=315335>Microsoft Knowledge Base Article 315335<!/mskb>, regarding memory problems. You seem to have checked this already.

    Have you looked at the Windows Hardware Compatibility List (say via <!mskb=295322>Microsoft Knowledge Base Article 295322<!/mskb>)? It may be that some of the above equipment is not listed.

    Is there any indication of a filename in the BSoD? Something like "Error in NTLDR" or suchlike?

    John
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  5. #5
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: BSD while loading XP Home (XP Home )

    Liftoff,

    Can you get to the point where you boot to the CD and have it perform a "clean" reformat and install?
    Even better, if you have a boot floppy ( any kind of windows ) and do a repartition and then format on the HD and then install Windows.

    WIn XP Pro isn't going to do you any better than XP Home in this case.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: BSD while loading XP Home (XP Home )

    The ABIT motherboard was not in the microsoft list of hardware but it is very new. According to NEWEGG, others have used same ram and video card with this board with success.

    There was no mention of the NTLDR in the BSD.

    When I attempt to load windows, it boots from the CD, loads a bunch of files, starts windows, asks me to press enter to continue or r for repair. When I press enter, I see it recognizes the hard drive(s) at the bottom of the screen, and then crashes. I have tried SATA and IDE drives by themselves and together, same result.

    There is no error log to check as it hasn't even formatted the disk yet.

    Jon

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: BSD while loading XP Home (XP Home )

    I formatted the drive on another machine because I could not get that far on this machine. Windows bsds right before letting you format a drive. I formatted it as NTFS, long version. Same results.

    I just went and tried several memory changes. Different slots, one stick at a time, relaxed timings, upped the DDR voltage, all yielded the same BSD.

  8. #8
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: BSD while loading XP Home (XP Home )

    Liftoff,
    --------------------------------------------
    upped the DDR voltage
    -----------------------------------------

    You UPPED the DDR voltage? From the default?
    Jacking up the voltage, at this point at least , would probably make things worse.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  9. #9
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: BSD while loading XP Home (XP Home )

    Now I am really embarrassed. I was attempting to pre-load windows on the hard disk using an old reliable machine and got the exact same BSD. When I pulled the CD out I noticed some "goo" on the data side. I cleaned it off and now everything works, new machine and old.

    I need a good dope slap right about now.

    Thanks for the help earlier.

    It usually is something insanely simple.

    - Liftoff

  10. #10
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: BSD while loading XP Home (XP Home )

    I'm glad you found the solution! <img src=/S/joy.gif border=0 alt=joy width=23 height=23> Any amount of speculation is no substitute for the real answer...

    John
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  11. #11
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: BSD while loading XP Home (XP Home )

    Liftoff,
    Glad you found your problem.
    A basic engineering troubleshooting fact is always look for the easy, nickel & dime solutions first.
    9 out of 10 will be solved that way instead of checking the 100 dollar fix right off the bat. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •