Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Wilmington, North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    1,196
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Why can't I....(union query...) (2002)

    update records from a Union Query? I understand it's the "Laws of Access", but does anyone understand the reasoning behind it? That fact was particularly disheartening this morning as I tried to update my 1131 personnel (joined from two tables) and Access told me - "Uhnt Uh..." <img src=/S/disappointed.gif border=0 alt=disappointed width=15 height=15> Is there a way around this?
    ____________________________
    Jeremy
    "If you spend more on coffee than on IT security, then you will be hacked. What&#39;s more, you deserve to be hacked." -Richard Clarke

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Why can't I....(union query...) (2002)

    In the result of a union query, records from different tables are jumbled together. One record in the result might even be from two (or more) different tables. So it would be impossible for Access to determine which table should be updated if you were able to edit a record in the result. The only way around it is not to use a union query if you want to update records.

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Wilmington, North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    1,196
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Why can't I....(union query...) (2002)

    Grumble grumble grumble...... <img src=/S/aflame.gif border=0 alt=aflame width=16 height=16>.
    ____________________________
    Jeremy
    "If you spend more on coffee than on IT security, then you will be hacked. What&#39;s more, you deserve to be hacked." -Richard Clarke

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Why can't I....(union query...) (2002)

    You can grumble all you want. This is not a bug in Access, or an oversight on the side of Microsoft. You want something that is not possible.

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Wilmington, North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    1,196
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Why can't I....(union query...) (2002)

    I understand, but when I'm trying to bring together two separate yet very similar (same Structure, different data) backends, that throws a wrench in the gears....thanks anyway <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>
    ____________________________
    Jeremy
    "If you spend more on coffee than on IT security, then you will be hacked. What&#39;s more, you deserve to be hacked." -Richard Clarke

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •