Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Hollywood (sorta), California, USA
    Posts
    2,759
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Combobox column headings

    Is there a way to code column headings for a combobox whose data is not bound to a data source, but rather populated with additem?
    Kevin <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/Kevin_sig.gif alt="Keep the change, ya filthy animal...">
    <img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/redline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2>

  2. #2
    JustCallMeAl
    Guest

    Re: Combobox column headings

    Yup.

    Now, do you want to know how?? <img src=/S/hushmouth.gif border=0 alt=hushmouth width=20 height=19>

    To populate a two-column listbox from two textboxes (this codes is cut directly from a fax cover sheet system we developed):

    <pre> Me.lstRecipient.AddItem Me.txtTo.Text
    Me.lstRecipient.List(lstRecipient.ListCount - 1, 1) = Me.txtFaxNo.Text
    </pre>


    The AddItem takes care of the first column and the List takes care of the other columns.

  3. #3
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Hollywood (sorta), California, USA
    Posts
    2,759
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Combobox column headings

    Alright, which one gets to be the heading text?

    I'm just a bit confused here.
    Kevin <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/Kevin_sig.gif alt="Keep the change, ya filthy animal...">
    <img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/redline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2>

  4. #4
    JustCallMeAl
    Guest

    Re: Combobox column headings

    Sorry, I missed the word "headings." [img]/forums/images/smilies/sad.gif[/img]

  5. #5
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Hollywood (sorta), California, USA
    Posts
    2,759
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Combobox column headings

    Que puedo decir le?
    Kevin <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/Kevin_sig.gif alt="Keep the change, ya filthy animal...">
    <img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/redline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2>

  6. #6
    JustCallMeAl
    Guest

    Re: Combobox column headings

    Have you ever found an answer to this? I am currently trying to make the first row of my data the column head. I found the ColumnHeads property, but it is just a boolean to turn it on or off. I thought turning it on after populating the first row may do the trick, but it didn't.

  7. #7
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Hollywood (sorta), California, USA
    Posts
    2,759
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Combobox column headings

    No, never did.

    I suspect that property is relevant only for controls bound to a datasouce like an access table or excel sheet of rows
    Kevin <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/Kevin_sig.gif alt="Keep the change, ya filthy animal...">
    <img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/redline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2>

  8. #8
    JustCallMeAl
    Guest

    Re: Combobox column headings

    I just found out from <A target="_blank" HREF=http://support.microsoft.com/support/kb/articles/q164/3/43.asp>http://support.microsoft.com/support/kb/ar...s/q164/3/43.asp</A> that it is not possible to populate column heads in Word 97!

    Great! <img src=/S/sigh.gif border=0 alt=sigh width=15 height=15>

  9. #9
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Hollywood (sorta), California, USA
    Posts
    2,759
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Combobox column headings

    Good work Inspector. Let's see now. I spent about 2.5 hours researching this problem. I'll just shoot off any invoice to MS for my time...

    And have we confirmed that Word 200x fixes this problem?
    Kevin <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/Kevin_sig.gif alt="Keep the change, ya filthy animal...">
    <img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/redline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2>

  10. #10
    JustCallMeAl
    Guest

    Re: Combobox column headings

    Confirmed? No. However, the article (link above) does state that only those products listed at the top are affected by this. Word 200x is not listed.

  11. #11
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Queanbeyan, New South Wales, Australia
    Posts
    3,730
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Combobox column headings

    That doesn't sound conclusive. The word "only" is not mentioned in the KB article; it may just mean it's not been tried on W2K.

    More evidence please Holmes <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>
    Subway Belconnen- home of the Signboard to make you smile. Get (almost) daily updates- follow SubwayBelconnen on Twitter.

  12. #12
    JustCallMeAl
    Guest

    Re: Combobox column headings

    My insertion of the word "only" is based on this quote from the above knowledge base article:

    <hr>You must use the ColumnHeads property with the ListFillRange, Control Source, or Row Source properties to populate the headings. These properties are not available in the products that are listed at the beginning of this article. <hr>

    If Word200* has ListFillRange, Control Source, and Row Source, which at this point, how long has Word 2000 been out, it certainly does sound like it would work.

    I realize that my insertion of the word "only" was from a drawn conclusion, but I still stand by it. [img]/forums/images/smilies/smile.gif[/img]

  13. #13
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Queanbeyan, New South Wales, Australia
    Posts
    3,730
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Combobox column headings

    That's fair.

    Though I won't necessarily trust that MS keeps their old KB articles up to date.

    But in Office 2000, I haven't been able to populate the column head without having a bound data source of some sort- whether an external source, or a range of cells. That doesn't mean it's not possible, it just means that I've done enough stuffing around for now.

    A workaround might be to have those values in a hidden sheet, and referring to that source:

    ComboBox1.ColumnHeads = True
    ComboBox1.RowSource = "a2:a4"

    The value in cell a1 will be the heading.
    Subway Belconnen- home of the Signboard to make you smile. Get (almost) daily updates- follow SubwayBelconnen on Twitter.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •