Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Brighton, Michigan
    Posts
    184
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Asigning Task/Project Costs (Office 03/WIN 2K)

    How do you assign costs on a project basis. With a the project summary task highlighted, I am unable to enter any cost date into the fields of the Task Form. Office on-line help refers to "Fixed Cost Field", where does this exist??
    Regards,
    Marty

    "Aerodynamics Is For Those Who Cannot Build Engines" - Enzo Ferrari

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    3,852
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 259 Times in 239 Posts

    Re: Asigning Task/Project Costs (Office 03/WIN 2K)

    Are you able to enter fixed costs onto non-summary tasks? I would have expected that the Summary task will automatically work out the cost by totalling up the costs of the subtasks. Therefore I would have expected it to not be possible to allocate costs directly to a Summary Task.

    Try allocating the fixed cost to a subtask of the summary item.
    Andrew Lockton, Chrysalis Design, Melbourne Australia

  3. #3
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
    Posts
    45
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Asigning Task/Project Costs (Office 03/WIN 2K)

    The "Fixed Cost" field is available by selecting the Insert menu item and selecting column. You can pick any of the fields that are available to display. Once you have it, you should be able to enter fixed project costs in either a task or a summary task. Keep in mind that Project does not 'roll-up' fixed costs to the summary tasks like it does for the "cost" column. If you have the fixed cost and cost columns next to each other, you will see that the fixed cost gets added to the cost column and the cost column rolls up into the summary task. Does that make sense? Understanding how these fields calculate is sometimes difficult. Hope that helps.

  4. #4
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Brighton, Michigan
    Posts
    184
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Asigning Task/Project Costs (Office 03/WIN 2K)

    THANKS FOR THE GUIDANCE...IS THIS THE ONLY METHOD OF ASSIGNING FIXED COSTS/SUBCONTRACT COSTS? CAN THIS DATA ALSO BE ENTERED VIA THE "TASK FORM"??
    Regards,
    Marty

    "Aerodynamics Is For Those Who Cannot Build Engines" - Enzo Ferrari

  5. #5
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
    Posts
    45
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Asigning Task/Project Costs (Office 03/WIN 2K)

    You could also make your fixed cost or subcontract a resource and enter it that way as just cost. You will need to create the resource, assign it a rate of $1 and plug in the number of dollars you will be assigning as a resource cost on the task form.

  6. #6
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Brighton, Michigan
    Posts
    184
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Asigning Task/Project Costs (Office 03/WIN 2K)

    thanks randy
    Regards,
    Marty

    "Aerodynamics Is For Those Who Cannot Build Engines" - Enzo Ferrari

  7. #7
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    432
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Asigning Task/Project Costs (Office 03/WIN 2K)

    Cost is a calculated field:
    (Work*Standard Rate)+ (Overtime Hours * Overtime Rate) + Resource Per Use Cost + Task Fixed Cost.
    Fixed Cost is merely as additional cost added to a task and is a separate field for data storage, so it makes sense that it does not roll up into the Summary tasks. If you enter a value into the Cost field manually the difference between the calculated cost and the manually typed in cost will be added into the Fixed cost field. If the entered value is > than the calculated value the fixed cost will reflect a positive number, if you enter a value in cost < the calculated value the Fixed cost will reflect a negative number. The Summary tasks will show the revised calculation in the cost field not in the Fixed cost field.
    Hope this helps understanding what is being calculated.

    Carla

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •