3 Star Lounger
    Thanks

Update inventory (2003)

I am new to Access and find it pretty daunting. I am making my way through some very large books and am not looking for anyone to design by database for me because l enjoy the tinkering. But I am hoping someone can point me in the right direction at the moment.

I am designing a database to keep track of a rather large private wine collection (several thousand bottles). (Not my collection, regrettably.) I have four tables: tblWineID, tblWineInventory, tblWinePurchases, and tblWineUse. Each table, of course, has a primary key, and I have set up relationships. Here's my question: For each wine, I want the number of bottles in tblWineInventory to equal the number of bottles in tblWinePurchases minus the number of bottles in tblWineUsage. I was trying to figure out how to do that in tables, but now I am beginning to suspect that the best way to do that is in a Query. Is that right? If so, I'll direct my reading toward query design.

Here is more information on the tables and their primary keys, if that would help. All tables except tblWineID have multiple fields as a primary key. The primary keys are as follows:
    tblWineID: WineID (autonumber)
    tblWineInventory: WineID, Vintage
    tblWinePurchases: WineID, Vintage, PurchaseDate
    tblWineUse: WineID, Vintage, DateUsed

As I said, I am a complete Access newby, so just a nudge in the right direction would help. Meanwhile, I have lots more reading to do.

Fafner

Plutonium Lounger
    Thanks

Re: Update inventory (2003)

What does a record in tblWineInventory represent? A single bottle, or all bottles of a specific wine/vintage combination (such as 2001 Lytton Springs Zinfandel)
    And do you want to keep a history of the collection, or just store the present state?

3 Star Lounger
    Thanks

Thanks for your quick reply.