Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia, Australia
    Posts
    487
    Thanks
    75
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post

    SP2 & Wireless Network (XP with SP2)

    Loungers

    I hope someone can help. I have a home wireless network consisting of 3 machines, it was working fine - all being able to access shared files, internet, printer, etc until I installed SP2. After I installed SP2 I have not been able to access shared files and get a "You do not have permissions....." message, I've tried disabling the fire walls on the machines but still have the same problems - any thoughts?

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: SP2 & Wireless Network (XP with SP2)

    Are all 3 machines running XP ?? If so, is SP2 installed on all machines ??
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  3. #3
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia, Australia
    Posts
    487
    Thanks
    75
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post

    Re: SP2 & Wireless Network (XP with SP2)

    Doc,

    Thanks for the reply - yes all are running XP and all have sp2 installed

  4. #4
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    New York, New York, USA
    Posts
    2,328
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: SP2 & Wireless Network (XP with SP2)

    On each computer click Start | Control Panel, select Network and Internet Connections, then choose "Set up or change your home or small office network" and follow the wizard.

  5. #5
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: SP2 & Wireless Network (XP with SP2)

    Have you replaced the MS firewall with a third party one, if NOT you need to?

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: SP2 & Wireless Network (XP with SP2)

    Dean,

    Take a look here. I'm not sure it applies to your situation, and kaplinb's soulution may also work.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  7. #7
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia, Australia
    Posts
    487
    Thanks
    75
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post

    Re: SP2 & Wireless Network (XP with SP2)

    Thanks all for your replies - I'll try your suggestions and see how I go

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •