Lounger
    Thanks

Access location table (2003)

I'm sure I'm missing something obvious. My customer has a variety of locations, so I created a table where all the locations are listed. A copy of my database will be sent to each location, and certain features will be enabled or disabled depending on the location. The administrator will check a Yes/No field in the location table to indicate which location currently applies. I cannot seem to figure out a simple way of ensuring that all check marks are unchecked when the current one is checked. I created a macro to run some SQL, but it pops a box up to confirm. I'd like to get rid of this confirmation box (at the very least), and I'd be open to suggestions of how to set this up cleanly. I'm a long-time programmer, but new to Access and frustrated when I know what I want to do but not how to do it. Here's the SQL command I'm using:
    UPDATE tblLocation SET tblLocation.CurrentPlant = False;
    Any help would be appreciated. You've always come through in the past.

Super Moderator
    Thanks

Re: Access location table (2003)

Does your table contain one record with a field for each of the locations, or do you have a record for each location? The process would be different depending on the design you have used. The multiple record approach is probably the simplest for several reasons - you simply run an update query for every location but the one that has been selected, and set the location to false. We actually use a similar approach with one of our clients, and have a single record table that contains the ID number for the default location.

If on the other hand, you have a single record with fields for each unique location, you would have to resort to a VBA process and use either DAO or ADO to set each of the non-default fields in the record to false. Give us the details on the approach you are using, and we'll try to fill in some of the nitty-gritty details.
    Wendell

Lounger
    Thanks