Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Bismarck, ND, USA
    Posts
    451
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Autotext, Macros not saved (XP SP3)

    When autotext entries are created, they are not there the next time Word is started.

    We have tried renaming normal.dot with Word closed. After opening Word, when we check the Templates folder only the "normal.old" is listed. There is no normal.dot. Any Autotext entries are not available again after exiting.

    We've done a search for normal.dot and deleted any shortcuts from the Recent folder.

    We also tried renaming the Data key.

    Then we changed the options to prompt for saving changes to the normal template, but it does not prompt after creating an autotext entry and exiting Word.

    Any other ideas on what might be the cause?
    egghead

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Autotext, Macros not saved (XP SP3)

    Perhaps there is code (for example in an add-in) that interferes. Try disabling all add-ins to see if Normal.dot will be saved then. See Phil Rabichow's <!post=Systematic Approach to Behavioral Problems in Word (97/2000),197827>Systematic Approach to Behavioral Problems in Word (97/2000)<!/post> for details.

  3. #3
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    3,852
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 259 Times in 239 Posts

    Re: Autotext, Macros not saved (XP SP3)

    Are you sure you are adding the autotext entries to Normal.dot and not to the attached template?

    Are the autotext entries there after you add them (before the template is closed)?

    I have never seen Word fail to create Normal.dot. If Normal.dot is not being automatically created when you start Word after renaming the old Normal.dot then I would guess that you are looking in the wrong directory for the template.
    Andrew Lockton, Chrysalis Design, Melbourne Australia

  4. #4
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Autotext, Macros not saved (XP SP3)

    Did you try the suggestions by Hans & Andrew, especially checking add-ins? If so, what happened?

  5. #5
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Bismarck, ND, USA
    Posts
    451
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Autotext, Macros not saved (XP SP3)

    After working through the steps, the same problem existed.

    I have seen some references today regarding the Acrobat 7 toolbar. Here's one example:
    http://www.gmayor.com/lose_that_adob...at_toolbar.htm

    It has the suggestion of using "Save All". I will have them try that, see what that does.
    egghead

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Autotext, Macros not saved (XP SP3)

    Did you try removing all add-ins from both the Word & Office startup folders? It occurs to me that if merely starting Word at the command line with winword.exe /a wouldn't help in this case. Since you're trying to save changes in normal.dot & that technique won't create a new normal.dot.

  7. #7
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Bismarck, ND, USA
    Posts
    451
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Autotext, Macros not saved (XP SP3)

    It was the Adobe Acrobat 7!
    egghead

  8. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Autotext, Macros not saved (XP SP3)

    I seem to be having the same problem, but I can't find the Acrobat7 add-in to disable it. It's not listed in the Templates & Add-ins dialog. Where is it?

    Thanks,
    -Steve

  9. #9
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Autotext, Macros not saved (XP SP3)

    Do a search on your hard disk for PDFMaker.dot

  10. #10
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Autotext, Macros not saved (XP SP3)

    I was unable to locate PDFMaker.dot on my c: drive. (I included hidden and system folders/files in the search.) I also did a more generic search for *.dot and didn't see anything that looked like it might be Acrobat, yet I still have the Acrobat menus in Word and they seem to work just fine. FWIW, there is also no VBA project for Acrobat when I go into the Visual Basic editor.

    On a similar note, I have one thing in my startup folder. An add-in called mworks32y.dot. I know what it is, so that's not a big deal, but whenever I disable it in the Templates and Add-Ins dialog, it gets reactivated when I restart Word. Isn't that setting supposed to stay put until I change it back?

    -Steve

  11. #11
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Autotext, Macros not saved (XP SP3)

    Turning off mworks32y.dot in the Templates and Add-Ins dialog will only work during the current Word session. To get rid of it for good, move the template out of the Word Startup folder.

  12. #12
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Autotext, Macros not saved (XP SP3)

    Found the Acrobat stuff. It's at C:Program FilesAdobePDFMakerOfficePDFMWord.dll. I renamed the file to .xxx and it's gone from Word.

    I've been told by our IS manager that Acrobat and some other add-ins are known to screw with the saving of changes to normal.dot. He says that the "official" Microsoft work-around is to do Shift / File Menu / Save All in order to force a save of normal.dot, but I wasn't able to find a KB article about it.

  13. #13
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Autotext, Macros not saved (XP SP3)

    If you hold down Shift while clicking on the File menu, the Close menu item becomes Close All and the Save menu item becomes Save All. Save All will save all open documents/templates that have been changed, including Normal.dot (creating a macro or an autotext entry counts as a change to Normal.dot).

    Here is a link to the relevant MSKB article: Word does not save changes or you receive an error message in an Office program after you install Adobe Acrobat 7.0.

  14. #14
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    California, USA
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Autotext, Macros not saved (XP SP3)

    You guys are the best!!!! <img src=/S/clapping.gif border=0 alt=clapping width=19 height=23> This issue has my tech support stumped. Even though we've had issues in the past with other installations of Acrobat, they didn't make the connection, even after I repeatedly asked what got updated.

    Unfourtnately, our system is set up to automatically reinstall those Acrobat .dll files (another slick move since I was looking for the PDFMaker.dot), so renaming or moving them did no good for me. However, the forced save worked perfectly. Now everything is back to normal on my computer. Now let's take bets on how long before another "update/patch" is pushed through that will ruin everything again. <img src=/S/blowup.gif border=0 alt=blowup width=60 height=60>



    my stuff: Win XP, Office 2K3 on a Novell network with all kinds of sneaky stuff running in the background.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •