Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Spybot udpate

  1. #1
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Spybot udpate

    Spybot S&D 1.4 is finally released. Get it from a Mirror selection - The home of Spybot-S&D!.

    Joe
    Joe

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Spybot udpate

    Joe,
    Is that the final ver1.4 or an RC version?
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  3. #3
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Spybot udpate

    Read all about 1.4!.

    Thanks, Joe -- it seem that the automatic notification of new versions when running Spybot didn't work!

    John
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  4. #4
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Saco, Maine, USA
    Posts
    293
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Spybot udpate

    Thanks. It's been a long time coming...

  5. #5
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Spybot udpate

    There is a bug in the "final" version of Spybot 1.4 where the TeaTimer "there has been a change to a registry entry -- do you want to allow it?" screen is malformed, and the button text is almost impossible to read and the buttons overlap somewhat. For me this renders it entirely useless, and I have disabled this feature until it gets fixed.

    And after all that talk about quality, it is extremely annoying that "somebody" must have bunged in an untested fix just before it went live!

    John
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  6. #6
    Gold Lounger Rebel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,024
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Spybot udpate

    I got hit with that myself. I clicked on the "Don't Allow" in error (couldn't see the text on either button) and had to later delete this blocked registry change. The Left button is "Allow" and the Right button is "Don't Allow". I can live with this until it is (hopefully) fixed.
    John
    A Child's Mind, Once Stretched by Imagination...
    Never Regains Its Original Dimensions

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Spybot udpate

    Yes, I installed the latest version on a friend's new laptop and discovered that "feature". The maddening thing is that I've been using the beta all along, and it didn't do that. <img src=/S/hairout.gif border=0 alt=hairout width=31 height=23> Maybe I'll stick with the beta until they fix that annoyance. <img src=/S/hmmn.gif border=0 alt=hmmn width=15 height=15>
    Charlotte

  8. #8
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Saco, Maine, USA
    Posts
    293
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Spybot udpate

    It seems to run fine for me. BTW, click on the small pair of binoculars on the scan page; a horse will neigh, and a puzzle will pop up that you can play while it's scanning. Not bad for an Easter Egg in June...

  9. #9
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    'Small bugs in TeaTimer 1.4'

    After three weeks, the TeaTimer bug is officially* admitted, and the problems with the buttons in TeaTimer in Spybot Search & Destroy 1.4 are due to flaws in the Borland Delphi development environment.

    I can quite believe that Delphi has caused problems, because our main system (written in Delphi) had problems some time ago with new Compaq servers which had twin CPUs, whereas the previous ones had but one. A problem like that takes a fair amount of tracking down!

    John

    * i.e. not just in the Spybot Forums
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •