Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Den Haag, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    invisible website menu (XP Pro)

    (Edited by HansV to make URL clickable - see <!help=19>Help 19<!/help>)

    On visiting the website http://www.borderterrier.pl I found that I was unable to navigate through the site as I can't see the menu .... Seems I am the only one .... :-((
    Synchronized my IE settings with those my husband uses (he CAN see the menu): to no avail. Any suggestions??

    Regards,

    Erica

    The Netherlands

  2. #2
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Vienna, Wien, Austria
    Posts
    5,009
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: invisible website menu (XP Pro)

    I cannot see the navigation menu either - in IE - because it contains an ActiveX control. If I add it to my Trusted Sites, then I should have no problem. Interestingly enough, the navigation menu is not blocked in the Firefox browser.

    Have you includded an item by item check of your Security settings for the Internet Zone (in Control Panel|Internet Options) in the check against your husband's settings?

    HTH
    Gre

  3. #3
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: invisible website menu (XP Pro)

    <P ID="edit" class=small>(Edited by jscher2000 on 02-Jun-05 18:14. Image added.)</P>When I test the page (the page loaded by the English flag), the menus are presented using Java. Because I have Sun's Java Runtime Environment (JRE) installed, a coffee cup appears on the system tray (the set of icons near the clock) when the menus are initialized. If you do not have menus on that page, perhaps you (1) do not have a Java interpreter installed, or (2) have disabled Java in the Internet Zone. Do other sites using Java work for you? You can try this one as a test:

    The official U.S. time - clock

    Added: Here's an image of what that sites looks like when Java is fully functional.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Den Haag, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: invisible website menu (XP Pro)

    Yes, I have checked and rechecked all the Active X settings my husband has ... and they were all the same .... Even turned off the spy- and adware programs I use ... nothing worked ....

    Perhaps I should try the Firefox browser, then ??? :-)))

    Thanks for the suggestions,

    Erica

    The Netherlands

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Den Haag, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: invisible website menu (XP Pro)

    Can hardly believe it, but found the solution myself!! That is, with some help from the internet .... In Google I just typed in: Java Applications (in Dutch) and up came a site .... with the solution .... Microsoft Virtual Machine. I downloaded the file from this site (as MS doesn't supply it anymore), installed it and yes, I can now see the digital clock ....

    Thanks a lot for putting me on the right track!!!

    Regards,


    Erica
    The Netherlands

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,577
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: invisible website menu (XP Pro)

    Erica,

    You never did say whether or not you had the Sun JVM installed. You can get it at Download Java 2 Platform, Standard Edition 5.0. If the page you are concerned about runs with the Sun version you are much better off using it. There is a whole litany of stuff surrounding the MS JVM. The upshot of it is that as a result of settling a lawsuit Microsoft is no longer supporting the JVM. So, the Sun JVM which is supported (i.e fixed and enhanced) is the preferred selection whenever possible.

    Joe
    Joe

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Den Haag, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: invisible website menu (XP Pro)

    Yes, I had the Sun JVM installed, that's why I didn't understand about the website menu not working for me .....

    Everything works fine now, but thanks for the link, will certainly have a look at it ...

    Regards,

    Erica

    The Netherlands

  8. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,577
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: invisible website menu (XP Pro)

    In IE if you go to Tools | Internet Options | Advanced is the Sun VM checked for use?

    Joe
    Joe

  9. #9
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: invisible website menu (XP Pro)

    You are more trusting of random web sites than I am. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

    There are two different programs available, Sun's JRE (Java Runtime Engine) and Microsoft's MVM. Due to a lawsuit, Microsoft had to stop distributing the MVM for a while and let it get out of date. Try a Windows Update to make sure the MVM you downloaded isn't missing any security patches. When you get some free time (ha!), you might install the Sun JRE as a replacement.

  10. #10
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Den Haag, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: invisible website menu (XP Pro)

    Yes, it is ... that's why it was all so confusing ....

    Regards,


    Erica The Netherlands

  11. #11
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Den Haag, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: invisible website menu (XP Pro)

    Will certainly check for security patches ... thanks for the tip!!

    On the website I found they also explained about the lawsuit and such .... must have been the reason why I decided to trust them :-)))

    Regards,


    Erica

    The Netherlands

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •