2 Star Lounger
    Thanks

Form Record Matching (2K2)

I have a form (frmSchedulerRN) that contains 2 subforms. The top subform (frmToBeStaffed) lists events that require staffing on a particular date and time. The bottom subform (frmRNMatcher)
    Easy Access

Super Moderator
    Thanks

Re: Form Record Matching (2K2)

What i would be looking to do is make the record source of frmRNMatcher a query that takes that day in frmToBeStaffed as a parameter, then requery frmRNMatcher in the oncurrent event of frmtobEStaffed.

However the way you have set it up makes this difficult (or cumbersome) to do, because the staff availability info is contained in 14 different fields,

I would create a separate StaffAvailability table, with an autonumber key, EmployeeID, DayNumber, and two boolean fields AvailableAM and AvailablePM.

You can then use the DatePart function to return the DayofWeek of the event. The query can then join staff to staff availabilty, and return records where the day matches the Day of the event, where either of the two boolean fields are true.
    Regards
    John

Super Moderator
    Thanks

I worked on a similar project once (matching casual staff to casual shifts) and we found that we needed to make it vastly more complicated to be useful.

*It was not enough to know that someone was usually available on Wednesday afternoon. We needed to be sure that they were availabe on this specific Wednesday afternoon. You may need to capacity to cope with variations to the usual pattern: I can't work this Wednesday because of..., I could work on Thursday this week if there is anything available.

We actually had a table where there was a separate record for each person and each day. So we needed quite a lot of code to create records in this table whenever they were needed.

* There was no point in the system displaying staff as available, when they had already been allocated a shift for the time period in question.