Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    San Mateo, California, USA
    Posts
    51
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Can't backup (Outlook XP -SP2)

    I've read all the posts on this subject but still don't see any solution. I'm running WinXP-Home-SP2. The attached .jpg shows the error message. It appears after I select FileBackup. I'm told that Outlook has to be closed to backup and this will happen automatically when Outlook is closed. So, OK, I close Outlook and the error message appears. This is something new, since I've successfully backed up Outlook before. Any ideas? I do not have my Dell-Axim 30 connected, so I don't think the sync program is running.

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't backup (Outlook XP -SP2)

    It sounds like one of any number of other programs may still be accessing Outlook - see a similar problem here at ComputerActive.

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Saco, Maine, USA
    Posts
    293
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't backup (Outlook XP -SP2)

    Hi,
    I used to get that message when I used Copernic's Desktop Search. Although I liked Copernic, it generated that error message in conjunction with several programs -- not only Outlook. You can temporarily shut it down when backing up Outlook. Copernic is aware of the problem, and may fix the issue in a future release. Ultimately, and unfortunately, I might add, I wound up uninstalling Copernic because of this problem.

  4. #4
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Burke, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    92
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't backup (Outlook XP -SP2)

    Have seen this a number of times. Start Task Manager and scroll though the "Processes" to make sure there are no Outlook.exe running. Many times just closing Outlook and removing the PDA from the cradle does not fully close it. You may see several instances of Outlook in there.

  5. #5
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    San Mateo, California, USA
    Posts
    51
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't backup (Outlook XP -SP2)

    Thanks for the directions; unfortunately, there was only the _one_ Outlook.exe which was for my currently open Outlook. When I closed Outlook, the process disappeared from the Task Manager (good thing!). I'm running SpySweeper and Norton Internet Security -- would either of these cause a problem? And why now, when the Outlook backup worked before, with those running in the background?

  6. #6
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Burke, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    92
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't backup (Outlook XP -SP2)

    Sorry it did not work. Have you performed detect and repair under help in Outlook? If not try it. Make sure to have your "orginal" install CDROM or it might not complete.

    apapkin

  7. #7
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
    Posts
    9,508
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts

    Re: Can't backup (Outlook XP -SP2)

    Is ActiveSync your Sync Software, and does it show in Task Manager as an active process after you close Outlook? If it does, close it and see if that solves the problem. (Is this the 624MHz Axim?)

    Also, did you think about desktop search software as suggeted by Liberty raynes in <post#=485347 >post 485347 </post#>?
    -John ... I float in liquid gardens
    UTC -7ąDS

  8. #8
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    San Mateo, California, USA
    Posts
    51
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Problem Solved!

    Thanks to all for the suggestions. Yes, MS Active Synch is my synch. program, and my Dell Axim 30x is the 624MB version. I didn't have Active Synch or extra "Outlooks" in the Task Manager so I couldn't delete them. But after trying all that, I got a _different_ error message, indicating that all that was wrong was my external HD wasn't attached. OK, so I turned that on, and... backup was done like a charm. Now that I do have a backup, I'll run the detect and repair from Tools in Outlook just in case.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •