Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: SpySweeper 4

  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Saco, Maine, USA
    Posts
    293
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    SpySweeper 4

    Webroot's SpySweeper 4 is out. If you already own SpySweeper, it is a free upgrade. Highly recommended.
    http://www.webroot.com/downloads/

  2. #2
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: SpySweeper 4

    I'm glad to find this thread, because I've just had a problem with the Spysweeper upgrade. I downloaded it this morning, (free, as we already have the earlier version) and immediately had problems. Couldn't get on line (unless I switched off my firewall) and then couldn't access various sites (unless I switched off the Spysweeper. ) Weird messages kept popping up on screen which I never seen before---I think it was something to do with one application blocking another--I'm only able to be to typing this message because I've switched off the Spysweeper (my firewall is still on.) Don't understand how Spysweeper can be blocking my access to legitimate websites. Any ideas? All help gratefully received.

  3. #3
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: SpySweeper 4

    That just reinforces my decision as to why I got rid of SpySweeper.
    I just didn't like the way it stuck it's nose into things and I didn't trust it.
    That doesn't solve your problem at all except to give you a subtle suggestion?
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: SpySweeper 4

    I put SpySweeper 4 on a friend's new machine, along with F-Prot, ZoneAlarm Pro, AdAware, and SpyBot and didn't have any troubles with it. <img src=/S/shrug.gif border=0 alt=shrug width=39 height=15> I'll guarantee I would have heard about it if *she* had any problems! <img src=/S/laugh.gif border=0 alt=laugh width=15 height=15>
    Charlotte

  5. #5
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: SpySweeper 4

    I guess it's the old story. Works fine on one machine and bombs out on another.
    Seems I had a few false positives on it and it clashed with another utility that I had on board.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  6. #6
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Saco, Maine, USA
    Posts
    293
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: SpySweeper 4

    Sorry to hear of your difficulties with the new Spysweeper. I am running it on two machines now (both upgrades from the previous version, 3.5 - one is XP Pro SP2, the other is Windows 2000), and have had no problems whatsoever on either machine. Both are running MS Antispyware beta, AdAware SE, Spybot S&D, and different antivirus programs, browsers, and firewalls. As one of the other posters noted, it's the old story -- what works for one, may not work for another. Anyway, please don't denigrate SpySweeper simply because you have had a bad experience with it on that one box -- I'm sure you weren't. I don't work for Webroot, but have found it to be an exceptionally well-written program that works well on every system I've tried it on, and think your experience may be the exception, rather than the rule.

  7. #7
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: SpySweeper 4

    I would suggest that you contact Webroot directly. Their support for Spysweeper is first rate from what I've read and heard (I've never had a problem so I can't speak from first-hand knowledge).
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  8. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,580
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: SpySweeper 4

    It might help if you could post a screenshot the exact error message. Also, if it is not there please include the site you were trying to access that caused the message.

    Joe
    Joe

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •