Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Query (Microsoft Office Access 2003)

    Post deleted by bmac1080

  2. #2
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Wilmington, North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    1,196
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Query (Microsoft Office Access 2003)

    What kind of data are you working with, and how is it stored? What types of calculations are you performing?
    ____________________________
    Jeremy
    "If you spend more on coffee than on IT security, then you will be hacked. What's more, you deserve to be hacked." -Richard Clarke

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Query (Microsoft Office Access 2003)

    I am using Double for everything.

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Wilmington, North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    1,196
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Query (Microsoft Office Access 2003)

    How is your information stored? Is it possible for you to post a copy of your database? We need a more thorough explanation to help you. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>
    ____________________________
    Jeremy
    "If you spend more on coffee than on IT security, then you will be hacked. What&#39;s more, you deserve to be hacked." -Richard Clarke

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Wilmington, North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    1,196
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Query (Microsoft Office Access 2003)

    Could you create multiple fields in your table, and use an update query (or multiple update queries) to manipulate and store your data? (I'll see more what you're talking about when I see your database, however until then, just trying to throw ideas out)
    ____________________________
    Jeremy
    "If you spend more on coffee than on IT security, then you will be hacked. What&#39;s more, you deserve to be hacked." -Richard Clarke

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Query (Microsoft Office Access 2003)

    Sure, my information is stored in tables in Access. I am posting the db at this moment. If you notice, the original query is "DetermineTypeOfDimension". Then "ClassicPosterSwingframePosterSize" is based on "DetermineTypeOfDimension". Likewise "ClassicPosterSwingframePosterSize2" is based on "ClassicPosterSwingframePosterSize". But in "ClassicPosterSwingframePosterSize" I have gotten that error message and then started creating another query based on the previous one. The first formula in the next query is always the last formula I had to pull from the previous query.

    Sorry I had to zip this up, it was too big

    Thanks for your help

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Query (Microsoft Office Access 2003)

    You're piling calculation on calculation on calculation. This will quickly become too complicated. Starting a new query based upon a previous one is a way for Access to catch its breath, as it were.

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Query (Microsoft Office Access 2003)

    If you delete a question to which replies have already been posted, you make the thread incomprehensible for other Loungers. Please don't do that again!

  9. #9
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Mt Macedon, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    3,993
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 45 Times in 44 Posts

    Re: Query (Microsoft Office Access 2003)

    This thread is impossible to follow with the original question deleted.

    Can you make a new post saying what you are trying to do.
    Regards
    John



  10. #10
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Wilmington, North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    1,196
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Query (Microsoft Office Access 2003)

    Like Hans said, piling calculations puts Access in a world of hurt. My suggestion would be to create another table (based on order number) that will store all your other "variable" measurements, that could be calcuated from an update query (or queries) after your order is entered, (by form, perhaps?), and after the data is inputted, use a command button to run the calculations and store the values on your variable measurement table.

    Hans, would it be possible to transform his SQL statement into something of a rst.AddNew code, to store these (after changing the query to an update query)? I'm not really sure even where to begin (if I did, I'd attempt this myself).
    ____________________________
    Jeremy
    "If you spend more on coffee than on IT security, then you will be hacked. What&#39;s more, you deserve to be hacked." -Richard Clarke

  11. #11
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Query (Microsoft Office Access 2003)

    I didn't really study the queries in detail, I just noted that the results of calculations were repeatedly used in new calculations.

    I wonder if it is really necessary to perform the calculations in a query (i.e. for all records), or whether it would be sufficient to do them only for the current record in a form.

  12. #12
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Query (Microsoft Office Access 2003)

    Hi sorry about deleting the original post. Thanks for all teh advice. My original question was, I am running a query with my calculations in it. Eventually I get an error message that reads "system resources exceeded". Does Access have a limit in its queries to the amount it can calculate?

  13. #13
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Wilmington, North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    1,196
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Query (Microsoft Office Access 2003)

    You know, I thought about that, but personally, I always need to store my values, so I guess I just brushed that option to the side. For personal knowledge, could those calculations be done in VBA?
    ____________________________
    Jeremy
    "If you spend more on coffee than on IT security, then you will be hacked. What&#39;s more, you deserve to be hacked." -Richard Clarke

  14. #14
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Query (Microsoft Office Access 2003)

    I'm sure the calculations could be done in VBA. For a single record, this might be easier than trying to do it all in expressions in a query, but if you need it for all records, it might be too slow - user-defined functions can slow down a query considerably.

  15. #15
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Query (Microsoft Office Access 2003)

    This actually will only be done for the current record. I just haven't set that up in the query yet. I am actually going to use the results in a report. So I guess I could do all of the calculations on a report instead for that single record.

    Thanks for all your help again.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •