Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 29
  1. #1
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Administrator Account Freezes (SP2)

    I'm on a single user machine with full user privileges. If I log off my "Phil" account, I get a welcome screen with a choice of Phil & Administrator. If I choose administrator, I get a screen saver with no ability to do anything. There is no taskbar or start menu. Ctr+Alt+Del doesn't do anything. Mouse clicks don't do anything, (although I can see the arrow move as I move the mouse). The only way to get out is to turn off the machine & let it reboot into my "Phil" account. Any ideas what I did <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15> & what I can do to change it?
    Thanks,

  2. #2
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    1,993
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Administrator Account Freezes (SP2)

    Home or Pro?

    Pro I guess.

    Argus

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Administrator Account Freezes (SP2)

    I've never seen this symptom Phil, but try this. While at the Welcome screen, press ctrl-alt-del TWICE. That should bring up the "traditional" login screen with a name and password box. See if that helps get in as Administrator.

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Administrator Account Freezes (SP2)

    Or try starting in safe mode - hit F8 as your PC boots just before XP starts loading.

  5. #5
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Administrator Account Freezes (SP2)

    Sorry for the delay in responding, but I've been away. I have XP Pro, SP2. If I press Ctrl+Alt+Del, no matter how many times, nothing happens. When I booted into safe mode, I was able to log off "Phil" & onto the Administrator account. I disabled the screensaver & theme & did have a normal taskbar. However, when I rebooted, none of that was saved (even though when I pressed Alt+F4 & restarted), I saw a Saving your settings message.

    I do not have a password set (for either account) & allow the machine to boot directly to my account without having to logon. However, other than Safe Mode, I can't get into the administrator account. Once I'm in (using Safe Mode), I don't know what I can do to change it. Is there some setting that disables viewing the taskbar? I've moved the mouse to each edge of the screen trying to see if it will turn into a double arrow, & it doesn't. I'm not sure what to try from here.
    Thanks for the responses,

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Administrator Account Freezes (SP2)

    Hi Phil,

    See if System Restore (Start>All Programs>Accessories>System Tools>System Restore) will cure this. If you can recall when the last time your Administrator account was working correctly, so much the better. But if not, then start with the most recent one. If that doesn't correct it, go back a week or more (I know it's a new system so you shouldn't have too many restore points) and see what that does. All System Restores are reversable if you don't like the results. HTH. <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  7. #7
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Administrator Account Freezes (SP2)

    Hi Doc:
    I will try this, but I have a couple questions, as I've never done this before. I know I should create a new restore point before I start, but...
    1. Can I try successive system restore points, assuming they don't help, & then go back in one fell swoop? Or do I need to start with, say, two days ago, then back to today, then 3 days ago, back to today, etc.?
    2. I've been installing a lot of programs & updates to programs almost every day (I was smart enough to keep a list <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>). If I do a system restore to a point before such installation, do I have to reinstall all the programs (& rearrange their shortcuts on the start menu)?
    Thanks in advance,

  8. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,592
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: Administrator Account Freezes (SP2)

    Phil,

    Couple things. First, the settings not appearing to be saved. Settings like the ones you talked about are per user. So, they should have been saved for the administrator not your normal user. Second, when are you trying CTRL+ALT+DEL? After the system has booted? Then all it should do is bring up the Task Manager which can also be accessed by right click the start bar and select 'Task Manager'.

    If you know the programs you've installed I'd uninstall them one at a time from the last installed backwards, re-booting and trying what does not work. IMO, System Restore is pretty much useless on a new system where you are installing a lot of programs. You can go back to a point in time and you won't completely remove all traces of the programs just restore system files. See these Search Results at the MS site for more information. And then don't believe all the rosy marketing BS you might read there just the more technical stuff.

    Joe
    Joe

  9. #9
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Administrator Account Freezes (SP2)

    Hi Joe:
    Yes, the settings should have been saved for the administrator. But when I boot to "Phil", log off, logon to Administrator, I just get a picture with no taskbar, no clicks working, & no response to the keyboard. When I logged on as administrator in Safe Mode, I made the changes, but they don't stick when I go through the logoff & logon routine.

    I had deleted all my restore points prior to 5/31. I had only logged on as adminstrator once (after a logoff from "Phil" on 5/11), so I only know this behavior started sometime after that. That's the time I went to Start -> Run/control userpasswords2<enter>. Then the User Accounts dialog box came up. I Unchecked "Users must enter a user name and password to use this computer". Then I logged off as Administrator & the logon for Phil came up.

    I've made so many changes since then (probably 5-10/day) that I'd hate to try to uninstall everything, if I can avoid it. I'm wondering if a selective startup could give any information. Thanks for the link on system restore...quite a lot of reading...& it probably won't solve this problem.

    I also ran Registry Seeker reg cleaner recently & removed several hundred entries. But I thought that I was only affecting the "Phil" account, not the Administrator account. Any ideas I could try before uninstalling about 30 programs? <img src=/S/sad.gif border=0 alt=sad width=15 height=15>

  10. #10
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Administrator Account Freezes (SP2)

    Well, with some digging, I have more information, although I'm still confused. According to Original Administrator Account Does Not Appear During Friendly Logon Method, if I have another user account with Administrative privileges, I won't see the Admin account on my "friendly" logon screen.

    So theoretically, I shouldn't see an option for the Administrator account on my friendly logon screen. Here's what puzzles me. I know I logged off from "Phil" & went to my Administrator account once before. In fact, I couldn't get back to "Phil" until I went to Start/Run/controls userpasswords2 & changed the requirement. I did use TweakUI to put the Administrator option back on the friendly logon screen.

    I may have changed something about my "Phil" user account because it has Administrator privileges. But I've been able to install programs all along, so I'm not sure what I've changed. I can't change anything about the "Phil" account because there must always be one account with Administrator privileges. I understand that, but it's a catch 22. I can't enable the Administrator account, except through Safe Mode (using Ctrl+Alt+Del twice brings up the Admin account that is "frozen"). I can't change the "Phil" account (& I don't think I want to).

    So I'm at a loss as to where to go from here?

  11. #11
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Administrator Account Freezes (SP2)

    Did you by chance in the beginning rename the "Administrator account " to "Phil"?

    I have seen many a machine in with the "Administrator account " was renamed there was nothing but problems with account.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  12. #12
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Administrator Account Freezes (SP2)

    Hi Dave:
    No, I didn't rename it. Something really strange is happening & I'm beginning to believe in ghosts. I took the tower in to the shop today because I've also been having a slight vibration in the DVD-ROM drive just before it reads a CD. In the shop, the following problems "corrected themselves":

    1. The DVD-ROM didn't vibrate before reading the CD.
    2. When in clicked on the DVD-ROM with a CD in, it used to take about 30 seconds to show the contents. At the shop it took about 1 second.
    3. At the shop, I was able to logoff the "Phil" account & logon to the Administrator account quickly, with no freezing (& with the task bar showing).

    The shop technician suggested that there might be an IRC conflict with one of my external drives. However, as soon as I got home (with a new DVD-ROM drive):
    1. The DVD-ROM drive would vibrate.
    2. I discovered that if I was in Explorer view & left clicked on the DVD-ROM drive, it took 30+ seconds to display (& vibrated slightly). If I clicked the drive in the right pane (or clicked it in My Computer view), it displayed the contents in about 1 second.
    3. I couldn't logoff from "Phil" & logon to the Adminstator account. When I tried, it took about 30 seconds & then all that showed up was the background picture...no taskbar.

    The only things different between the shop & my house were:
    1. I had other hardware plugged in at the house. I unplugged all external drives & printer to eliminate that difference.
    2. I had two surge protectors. I unplugged one & plugged everthing in directly to the surge protector. I'm not sure if they use one at the shop.
    3. I have a UPS device connected to the surge protector at home. This has remained unchanged & they don't have one hooked up at the shop.
    4. The keyboard & mouse are different at home. I unplugged my old mouse & keyboard & put in the MS wireless keyboard & mouse. This didn't make any difference.
    5. The monitor (a 17" Dell P780 CRT) is different at home. This has remained unchanged.

    So the differences are:
    1. Plugging into a surge protector.
    2. Having a UPS hooked up.
    3. Different keyboard, mouse, & monitor.

    Any ideas why this could make a difference? Think I should be looking for a hardware conflict?
    Thanks,

  13. #13
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Administrator Account Freezes (SP2)

    Between being in LA and a different magnetic North (difference between shop and home) may be the problem.

    Now with the humor to the side, can you try moving the setup into another room as a test, do NOT hook up any external devices? What is in the area of the machine where you are having these problems?

    I have seen furnaces, microwaves, heaters AC units, stereo units, TV's, powerful speakers and other electronic devices cause problems.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  14. #14
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: Administrator Account Freezes (SP2)

    We once had a problem that only manifested at high tide, when the radar from the ship in the nearby river rose above the surrounding obstructions.

    StuartR

  15. #15
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Administrator Account Freezes (SP2)

    Hi Dave:
    Thanks for this idea, Dave. I do have a speaker hooked up (with a subwoofer). Other than that, this is my home office. Nothing electrical besides the computer & accessories, a telephone (chordless), my arial for wireless internet connection, & a transformer for the sprinker (plugged into a different socket). I'll give this a try on Monday (moving the tower & monitor into another room). If that doesn't work, maybe I'll move. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •