Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Etobicoke, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    198
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Network Connections (XP Home SP2)

    Win XP is doing some new tricks lately and I can't relate it to anything I've done.

    When I start my computer in the morning I am unable to connect to my home network or the internet. My work around is to go to Control Panel-> Network Connections and then Disable and re-Enable the Network Bridge. This seems to work fine until the next time I shut down my computer and then I have to do it all over again when I start the computer back up.

    Occasionally, once I have confirmed I am connected (for example, by going to Google) I get a DNS error: "The page cannot be displayed". I just hit refresh and then the page I want is displayed.
    <img src=/S/scratch.gif border=0 alt=scratch width=25 height=29>

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Network Connections (XP Home SP2)

    Is this a wireless or hardwired network?
    How many others on the network, and do they have similar problems?
    Do you have a router-modem, or separate boxes?

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Etobicoke, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    198
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Network Connections (XP Home SP2)

    That was fast <img src=/S/exclamation.gif border=0 alt=exclamation width=15 height=15>

    I have 3 desktop computers on a single router connected by ethernet. (The modem is separate.)

    I also have a wireless router connected to the first router for a wireless notebook.

    Only my computer is experiencing connectivity problems.

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Network Connections (XP Home SP2)

    OK - what LAN hardware do you have? - and have you checked for the latest drivers?

    Has this just started happening, or is it a new(ish) installation)?

    (I might not respond so fast next time - I need to go out for a bit!)

  5. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Etobicoke, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    198
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Network Connections (XP Home SP2)

    LAN hardware? My main router is a Linksys BEFSR41. I will go to the Lynksys site and check for driver updates.

    The modem is a Terayon which was supplied by my ISP. This is a hi-speed cable connection.

    The last major change to my network was a year or so ago when I added the wireless notebook and the 3rd desktop. Everything has been humming along quite nicely until now.

    <img src=/S/cheers.gif border=0 alt=cheers width=30 height=16>

    p.s. Nice to see the EU flag. I had to look it up because it wasn't familiar.

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Network Connections (XP Home SP2)

    LAN hardware - sorry, I meant on the pc that is having the problem.
    (I'm guessing it's safe to assume everything else is OK if the other machines on the network connect alright.)

    Have you updated or upgraded anything recently? Firewall? SP? Anti-virus?...

  7. #7
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Etobicoke, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    198
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Network Connections (XP Home SP2)

    LAN hardware on the PC that is having the problem; I can only assume that you are talking about the network card that came pre-installed with this computer. I can check the Compaq site for updates.

    I update AVG Anti Virus, Zone Alarm, MS AntiSpyware, AdAware and SpyBot on a regular basis. I run Ad Aware and SpyBot on a weekly schedule. The rest are always active in the SysTray. What is SP?

  8. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,594
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: Network Connections (XP Home SP2)

    See this from Zonelabs: Zone Labs: Security Alert. If you updated ZoneAlarm last week you may want to check into this in more depth at Zone Labs: Zone Labs Service and Support, ZoneAlarm support, technical support.

    Joe
    Joe

  9. #9
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Etobicoke, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    198
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Network Connections (XP Home SP2)

    Crykee! Ther are no fewer that 14 software and driver downloads on the Compaq site for my model #!! Of particular interest may be the NVIDIA nForce MCP Networking Adapter for Win XP.

  10. #10
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,594
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: Network Connections (XP Home SP2)

    Be careful about updating things when you already have a problem. Since your PC was working it is most likely that one of your recent updates is the cause. Changing something else much less 14 things may cause more harm than good at this point. You should try to solve the one issue before changing something and adding more uncertainty. BTW, SP is Service Pack. You can find your Windows version by right clicking My Computer and selecting Properties.

    Joe
    Joe

  11. #11
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Etobicoke, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    198
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Network Connections (XP Home SP2)

    I wasn't sure what SP Leif was referring to. The reference line for this thread is XP Home SP (Service Pack) 2.

    Anyway, I downloaded and installed only the NVIDIA nForce MCP Networking Adapter for Win XP from the Compaq site which, after a reboot, made no difference. I still had to disable/enable the network bridge.

    Does Windows keep a chronological list of when & what software is added or changes made? <img src=/S/confused.gif border=0 alt=confused width=15 height=20>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •